How To Succeed On Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

SteemitSuccess.jpeg

Introduction

So you’ve just joined up on Steemit, hearing about the endless possibilities, financial freedom, this is going to be it! Don’t be so hasty to order that Lamborghini just yet. I shall refer back to the good old saying “Rome wasn’t built in a day”. If you think you can make money out of nothing, and that it’s all going to be a simple ride to the moon on this platform, you’re wrong. All the people you see being paid huge amounts per post have realistically been in this game for a long, long time, or, they’ve paid a large amount of money into the system.

But don’t fear, all is not doom and gloom, I just needed to get that out of the way to begin with, because ultimately I want both myself, and you guys, to succeed in what we do here. So in this post I will provide an overview and some tips as to how you can grow within this community.

SteemitDivider.jpg

Passion

What are you most passionate about? Take a step back and ask yourself what are you providing this community. If you’re not an expert on horticulture, maybe stick to something else that you are passionate about, like, let’s say… book reviews. This solves two things: firstly, if you write about your passions you’re less likely to get bored and reach a wall in your content creation, and secondly, you’re more likely to provide a useful and positive contribution to the community as you’re an expert in what the topic is all about.

SteemitDivider.jpg

Originality

This point goes hand in hand with the previous point to a large extent. What niche can you bring to the table that nobody else does? For example, I personally saw there was a huge amount of TA on Steemit already, there is also a huge amount of “What coins I think will blow up in 2018” type posts. So what did I do? I utilised a gap in the market, my niche. A brief overview of the top 100 coins is something I don’t see too often, so I decided that’s what would be of most benefit to the community.

SteemitDivider.jpg

Socialize

Steemit has a great community and I am happy to have made connections with people that I wouldn’t have if it weren’t for this platform. A great way of getting new followers is to check out similar people to you, give them a nice message and strike a conversation. We can all learn from each other and help each other reach new heights of success.

SteemitDivider.jpg

Consistency

Maintaining a consistent and frequent posting routine will, not only help you balance your workload, but it will also provide your viewer-base with plenty of content to read, without them forgetting about you and moving onto other things. That being said, I would highly advise against “spamming” and posting several times a day. One of the most important things with content creation is taking immense pride in your work and making sure everything is of a high-standard. I am much more likely to follow someone who produces great content every few days than someone who posts a few lines of text and a GIF here, there and everywhere.

SteemitDivider.jpg

Applications

I know it feels like selling yourself to the devil, well, it did for me anyway. But decentralized Steem applications such as SteemFollower and SteemEngine are a great way of getting new followers and gaining new likes on your posts. Utilize these tools to your advantage!

SteemitDivider.jpg

Conclusion

Finally, and possibly the most important thing of all you can take from this, is enjoy it! That’s the greatest success, to have a joyful and happy life, so do what you enjoy. This content creation life isn’t for everyone, but if it is for you, then I wish you every success and I hope that I managed to help or inspire you in any way, shape or form.

If you enjoyed this post, please don’t forget to up-vote, follow and comment! Thank you for taking the time to give it a read and I hope you have a nice day.

Sapientia Ianua Vitae

Donations:

BTC Address - 1JQGxuVLQf1hAz6i2dpitvGNvkTSKD8xAC
LTC Address - LdHvzzi5ZhZZr9Ce5gek9rgmJXbk78tQD7
ETC Address - 0xae041220e640Ca52BCa8644B178682fC12705cBA

Sort:  

This post is very informative and i wish i had read this kind of stuff six months back when i first started steeming. We get confused as newbies when we see other posts dealing in 100's of dollars.

The key here is patience. Trust and respect your work and you will see yourself growing. It took me a little time to understand my field of interest. Do not post under compulsion. Make a post on a topic which u like and try to do justice with your work. You will see changes happening. :) Nice post buddy....:)

Thanks a lot @honeychum, it's good to know people like the post. Maybe I'll do a little more on Steemit stuff as this post seems to have gone down well.

You seem to have done very well for yourself 6 months down the line though! Can you give any tips or insight into what it's like and how to get into a position like you're in now? :)

this is really a great help for me as i am a new member here. i feel frustrated every time i post something and no one will upvote it :(. so yeah thank you for reminding me that all the people i see being paid huge amount per post is been here for very long time. i should stop comparing myself to them. patience and passion is really the key for success

I'm glad I could be of help! Yeah I appreciate it's really hard, I'm new too so I go through the same process of wishing I got a bit more visibility and likes etc... but it'll come with time, you just gotta stick with it :)

thank you! let's do this! let's set our goals! goodluck to both of us my friend! :)

We minnows are all on the boat ;) just write good content, even if you get 2 likes per post if the content is good they will surely upvote you and follow you, take time to read other posts and comment something funny or informative, don't spam, and sooner or later you will make it.
I will give you a example, @nathan290595 commented on my introduceyourself post, i could see that he actually took time to read the post, and didn't comment spam, so i followed him and every time he posts i come here, i read the post and try to comment something.
It might take a while but we minnows will soner or later digivolve into dolphins, we just got to give it time and hardwork, and on the way make some friends :)

Thanks @teutonium This is great advice. Socialize and be original. Okay. Got it!

Thank you @nathan290595 for your great advice!

I would like to invite you to join the Daily Inspiration project, which aims to foster mutual support among new Steemians.

I wish you all the best in your Steemit endeavours. You may join the Daily Inspiration project created by @inspirationdaily by joining the discord channel - https://discord.gg/hjhKHv

Hi, thank you for this, nicely written. I am starting to wonder though if bots are not undermining the actual use of Steemit generally. It’s a fine balance between promoting your content and manipulation. What do you think?

Thanks mate, yeah I agree with you entirely tbh. It makes the Steemit platform more confusing for new users as it's kind of a strange concept for a social media site.

That being said, if you can't beat them, join them. At the end of the day, it just helps new people start out and get some traction going... This platform is VERY weighted towards the people with all the $$$ that get on trending and make lots of money per post... so anything that can help bridge that gap I would argue is a good thing, even if it's slightly meh as an ideology.

I fear I have to agree since after only 7 days of Steemit i would also love to see little more response.

BUT:

I will get there if all of you help 😉👍🏻

Hi Nathan, It's a very good post.. it's neat, and I love the "picture" in between the point you made.. Honestly, I couldn't agree more on this post, and as for me, consistent , by far, is my greatest enemy...

I wonder can what is your best "booster" to use to grow our steemit? I heard there are steemengine and steemfollower..but I think they are not "real people", (or perhaps i mistaken)... If they're just bots, how can we make a good engagement to grow the community?

Thanks man, in answer to your question, they are indeed real people. I'll explain how it works using SteemFollower as an example.

If you use SteemFollower, you can like posts on the website and you get points for doing so. These points will put your post higher up on the list of posts on SteemFollower, and you will be guaranteed a certain amount of $$$ in up-votes based upon the amount of votes you have cast yourself.

But I will re-iterate... they are all real people and real posts, it's just a place in which you can ensure you get up-votes back for the up-votes you have given.

Great response.. still trying to get the grasp of it, but yeah... I will survive... thanks a lot man..

thanks man, this was some great advice!

No worries mate, glad you appreciated it :)

Thanks for posting this. I just started with steemit and need all the advice I can get! I will be patient, and look forward to meeting new people who share similar passions!

No worries Tom, glad it was useful for you :)

Hey Nathan, thanks for the nice post! You're absolutely right, with a bit of hard work and nice content we'll get there. That is the beauty of a community, we don't just do it alone, we do it together!

I did not know the steem engine yet so thank you for that. I'm going to have a look at what it is and maybe even use it!

I look forward to the rest of your posts! But watch out with what you say about your posts in the future, what you are going to do. People like to steal ideas!

Love,
@SnowieD

No worries @SnowieD, thanks for reading it :)

Congratulations @nathan290595! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71