You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Archive Test - What I Did, and What I Learned

in #steemit6 years ago

Holy cow, that's a good pile of nerdy tests and research.

Now, if steemit.com rejects 64k+ files, isn't that just a limitation of the website frontend? Can't someone theoretically write directly to the blockchain, presumably using much larger file sizes?

I know for larger fiction stories the limit that steemit.com will take is roughly 5000-6000 words, but other frontends (busy.org, etc) will allow for much larger posts to be written to the blockchain (all this is anecdotal and simple personal experience and maybe not related to the 64k limit you're mentioning).

Anyway, I like that you spent the time to find a solution like this, and the slightly impractical nature of it is charming. :)

Sort:  

Hey, I'm nothing if not impractical... :D

I suspect we're looking at the "block" in "blockchain" here with that limitation.

Some of the historical records I've uncovered (i.e. old Steemit posts on the subject) talk of a one megabyte limit...

So 64K may be a front-end limitation. However, just as disks are sliced into sectors and blocks, this should not be a limit to a front end programmer dealing directly with the chain.

I'm trying to do multiple things here, probably all mutually incompatible. If I ever get a round 'tuit and teach myself some Steemit programming, I will try to write an app that runs on a local computer and can store and retrieve "stuff" of any type on the Steemit blockchain. In the meanwhile, I wanted to see if "Joe Average" could do it, even on a limited basis. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67