You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @brandonfrye Upvote Bot Blacklist

in #steemit6 years ago

I just ran into another post from @themarkymark also talking about the amount of spam accounts being created on the platform. It is crazy that Steemit is allow that as it lead to more spam and trash on the blockchain. Bandwidth is great right now but as the ecosystem grows it could lead to problems if they do not control this. I saw he was a witness as well and gave him my vote. Have you thought of being a witness?

Sort:  

I'll have to check out that post. But I know it's hard to prevent people from creating an account for spamming as there is no way to vet them... similar to FB and Twitter really. And maybe even more so here because all you need is a little Litecoin or Steem to create an account - no phone number, email, etc. Welcome to decentralization! ;)

And no, I personally don't have much interest in becoming a witness. It's a little late in the game unless you have a huge following that would vote for you.

EDIT: I just read his post and that's insane. Had no idea that so many spammers are creating accounts so easily. Surely this is something that Steemit Inc. can put a stop to. Thanks for pointing that out!

Read that today too. Absolute madness. It took me only a day to get my account but the people I recommended to try out Steemit gave up because it was weeks and no account was given to them.

Good hardworking people that would have brought a ton to the platform. Yet these scam accounts get in? Man oh man...I love this place but wow.

You can buy an account, which is what I imagine somebody looking to make a ton of money would do.

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71082.84
ETH 3864.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52