You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Did Steemit Inc. just destroy all our images?

in #steemit5 years ago

To answer your question about why they would do this: the image is uploaded and stored once but every time someone reads your post, the image gets downloaded to the person's browser. The bandwidth or data transfer costs become massive. You also end up with truly slowly loading pages once people starting filling posts with multiple massive image files. Some posts would not load at all. I found that while browsing steemit, my data costs were going through the roof and I am just one user. This is a massive saving that also leads to better site performance.
As a a website builder, images 101 is: compress your images and I have always resized my images to around 650px anyway. If you do this yourself, your small images will look ok and you could try hosting larger versions elsewhere and linking to them elsewhere if you felt truly altruistic and confident that people will actually click on your larger images

Sort:  

I have all my images on Flickr. They download much faster and also do not burden Steemit Inc. Flickr has been free so far but next year they will start charging for their services to the tune of about $7 a month. I won't die of that. I'm not bothered by ads if they are not too intrusive, so I might consider an ad-powered alternative.

Wow, I did not know that Flickr will now charge for hosting images! 7$ a month seems like quite a lot if they only offer image hosting for that price

When you look at hosting packages for a website, the images on your site always determine the size of the package you need to get. Sites like imgur and flickr must also be paying a fortune to host all those images by now, I'm sure they need to start passing those costs on a little

That is true and compressing images is definitely a good idea, as @flugschwein pointed out the main reason was apparently saving bandwidth for users. When writing posts for other frontends than steemit.com 640px is not sufficient though.

For sure, although I still prefer looking at a smaller, well compressed image (done by the uploader, not some blurry mess made by a CDN plugin) and then deciding whether I want to see it bigger, such as juliank used to do with his competition winning posts. I think that the bona fide photographers have unfortunately had to pay the price for all those gif wars on drama posts, gifs in post footers and people who don't know any better dumping 5-10 17mb files in a single post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66938.10
ETH 3118.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81