You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The virtuous cycle of upvoting your comment section...

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

That is a brilliant message that we need to pass accross, there is selfish comment voting and there is useful and real comment voting.

The later needs to be encouraged

As discussion is key for the social part of this network to grow and thrive

Sort:  

I agree. And the beautiful thing is that steem to 10$ is conservative. With the release of smart media token I see steem going way higher in a few years.
Remember that steem was valued at 4$ more than a year ago... which means that it could go way higher.

Maybe the $4 would be the first sell of, in this graph?

One thing I'm realizing so far, the cryptocurrencies aren't obeying any market laws.

We are making the market laws...
When the BTC bag is full, whales entice us to move deeper inside, smart new comers can help play the game by surfing the pump wave, this is normal as is needed so increase the stake and build the don't panic wall!

I have been looking at it and the bubble is not being bursted, it is just moving, slowly deflating, the scammer might be having fun, but you can see the way the market moves, that some whales beleive in the future and the adopters and beleivers just need to follow their path to help create equiality and wealth...

Usually the ones trying to convert this into Wall Street 2.0 either get big bags of $$ and go away or fall to the good whales, it is the financial battle of good vs evil!

I consider my duty as new comer to trust there are others like you and me that are convinced this is the future, we shall become another wave of whales this time to join ranks with the ones doing the pumps and easing the dumps so the whealth is distributed and then go and build that money wall of trust because crypto just went LIVE man for the humanity we are te gateway and steemit has a really important role!

I have learnt and understood so much this last few days... either that or o got really scammed... in a few months time i will be able to tell!

For now i trust and beleive, and as soon as i'm strong enough I will take part into building that wall, because it is our chance to show things can be done in an ethical way!

I 100% agree with this, and it sucks because I came here originally because i believed in it but then my first year fell for the wall street 2.0 trap

That's right. And I think that we are all encouraged to post and comment high quality content. This will make Steemit a growing and interesting community and STEEM value will raise. While doing spam could only affect it.

I also believe it could go way up. But it would have to be a big change in order to see the prices rise a significant amount. I think Steem is a long term project that has built a great foundation and actually has something behind it. It is definitely unique from most other coins and tokens

we gonna be rich just commenting on steemit and millionaires if we post ☺

Considering how many people in the world just spend their time minding other's business, I see a huge market for commenting jobs haha!

you are right. nice comment. well done. Comment and upvote is a part of steemit.

Haha, if Steem rises very high we might. There are also some people here on this platform that make very decent amount of money by commenting, so don't underestimate the power of comments ;)

I completely agree

1azb44.jpg

The tough part in regards to Steemit from the perspective of a new author is gaining exposure while wading through the shit pond of garbage posts in order to gain a following. There are so many junk articles out there it can be off putting to find your solid effort in writing an engaging and detailed post swallowed by a sea of bullshit articles consisting of regurgitated links and unoriginal thought that are for all intents and purposes spam.

I find it particularly frustrating when the aforementioned bullshit articles are nothing more than an aggregation of links copied and pasted from various sources such as Google news on a topic. It reminds me of Magpie, the old content aggregation code that we would use to vomit key word relevant articles into a feed on a site in order to move of the SERP and game the Adsense system.

U5dqv1bPasu2zHfppc8G4BoL3MPPPBV_1680x8400.jpg

This unfortunately creates a situation where talented authors or those that have the requisite grey matter between their ears to write solid content must debase their character and engage in link spamming comments or whale posts in the hopes of getting some love.

I’m not quite sure what the solution to this issue is. Perhaps a category of up and coming should be created where new authors are featured based upon a ratio of positive feedback relative to posts; though even that would not work as it again fails to address the issue of initial exposure in order to gain the needed positive feedback. Perhaps a metric needs to be applied to number of words vs. links, or number of words total. Longer more engaging articles would receive a multiplier based on the likelihood of them containing good content. Whereas posts of aggregated links would receive a penalty as they likely contain nothing of substance.

This may even address what I as a new user have come to see as “lazy whale syndrome”.. I’m a whale, I made it.. I’m just going to post articles full of links with the mentality that the legion of dung beetles following me will upvote in the hopes of gaining curation manna the turd I just produced.

I’m not sure what the actual solution is so I’ll just keep lurking in the shadows ambushing whale articles with link spam until I’m all grown up and can venture out on my own.

Well i am sure that once everyone is commenting more than "vote you / you vote me" and once most whale-ish authors start doing as @cryptoctopus does and vote comments that are worth it.

New comer bloggers will see a source of rewards for quality comments while they develop their follower base

Curators, can keep an eye on the authors whose comment got so highly voted as it indicates potentially good content will be coming from that author...

To express it mathematically = (Win / Win)^n

HODL STEEM !

Pump pump pump... Never dump!
This is the future of our platform!

While I can find truth to your argument I can likewise see that virtuous well thought out comments like my initial entry into this thread more often than not go unrewarded..

Probably because you replied to me, and i am a small fish (And could not vote yet because i am loading VP )

Then let us be small fish together... :) and grow inside this steemit pond.

Are we having a small fish meeting over here?

Ok, so this is where all the small fish are hiding!!

boinc
Courtesy of @joshoeah

Exactly! Steemit is still relatively new and growing, and good content, whether posts or comments, will always find a way to shine through. I’m just a minnow now, but in the week that I’ve been here I’ve gained a following of a couple dozen folks and seen the potential of greater rewards by convert some BTC to STEEM to reap the rewards. My best advice for new Steemians is WRITE POSTS. I don’t mean post useless memes. I mean actually create something new and unique and contribute to the platform.

I also find that most comments, despite being of good quality, will go unrewarded, or have a small reward. However, every once in a while they will get a very nice reward, so I guess you might think of each good comments as a gamble that pays off every once in a while.

like the roulette Red/Black :)

True, lets see if any of these gambles actually pay dividends

Well meanwhile STEEM reaches 10$ we can make some good friends, and write some good posts.

Have a good day bois!

LOOK UP 5G DEATH TOWERS THEY GOING TO SILENTLY KILL US ALL STAND UP AND DO WHATS RIGHT DONT LET THIS HAPPEN

You speak the true fact

I agree with you @nnnarvaez

whatever will be planned by the steemit, I personally very supportive!

yah thanks for this idea. Great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67006.39
ETH 3124.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78