You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit, Inc. Blockchain Roadmap and Cost Reductions

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

improving the efficiency of the image hosting service.

To you folks out there who upload images, something to keep in mind:

There's no need to upload an image more than once. You're given a link each time you upload an image the first time, so use that link if you decide to display that image again, instead of uploading the same image a second, third, or hundredth time.

There. I said something that saves money instead of cheerleading.

Have a nice day.

Sort:  

How about the server calculates a hash, stores it with the picture and if someone uploads a picture with the same hash you just give him the link to the old picture? It should be the same if you don't alter the specs of the picture (aka size or apply any filters). This would be way more convenient for the user and could reduce costs relatively easy.

Sure. But since we're pinching pennies, I thought I'd offer my two cents savings.

ive been doing that for a while now and didnt even realize i was doing it by copying and pasting a post along with the image url then changing for the current weeks information.

I haven't always done what I recommended. Recently I changed my ways. When I'm given the link, I now add that original link to the 'details' section of the file properties for safekeeping and easy access.

7ohP4GDMGPrUi4oa8yTU7QwSHZ29mRt9qof85ejCza2CSfzuY1iwcJErnogvDWBfxNb75owXQvgA8VaAc6KhioJeJJnXKTmCdJjo.gif

Exactly, you only have to upload the image once, and then copy the image address every time it is going to be used.

good guy saves cost...I do upvote !!

Also : you can copy image link from other people as well , instead of loading the same image...with credit ofcourse

with credit of course

And permission.

sure why not....

Give me a N! Give me an O! Give me a ... well you know the rest.

More comments like this please, everyone.

Doesn't everyone realize this?

I don't know. Ask everyone.

I have been doing that for the past couple of months Since most of my reviews are repetitive images from ICO projects, I just borrow images links from others users rather than uploading them myself and quote the source as the ICO project.

Unfortunately, I don't think this can be applied to the mass, this is a personal management thingy, which is hard to control or apply on a community social network.

The best solution would most likely be a private folder onsite members could upload images to and pull from when needed, or discard when no longer needed, with storage limits that would increase with the amount of SP a member has.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93