So Steemit? What's Up? Enjoying Your Time Here? Are You Even Around To See This?

in #steemit6 years ago

I often wonder what the point of writing this opening line truly is.
Yet, I do it anyway.

NoNamesLeftToUse - A Piece of the Puzzle You Didn't Know You Were Building.jpeg
A Piece of the Puzzle You Didn't Know You Were Building

I've had far too much on my mind lately.

Is it time to spill the beans or will I just ramble on about nothing in particular? Maybe I'll do a business version of me post.

So today I found out I'm ranked #344 on this thing:

Screenshot (495).png
Image linked to source.  Change my name to yours in the address to find your rank.

Fantastic!

Every account is on that list.  #344 out of hundreds of thousands.  Not too shabby!

I'd probably be ranked higher had I not taken so much time off to recuperate or deal with a — life I didn't necessarily sign up for.  We all have bad days (I'll just keep telling myself that).

So I suppose now I could delegate away 250SP to that group and be entitled to seven votes per week.  Easy money, right?

That means one more vote.  No added eyes on my work.  No added comments aside from maybe some spam every now and again.

I'm a writer/artist/entertainer/humorist/stakeholder/entrepreneur/this is a long list and it just keeps growing.  What good am I without a viewership?  Why write the words, why produce the art, why try to get laughs, why even bother being creative — if nobody wants to look.  I'm an entrepreneur, I treat my blog like a business; why risk my money here when I can use that to easily advance my future, elsewhere?

Every single day, I struggle with that stuff while it burns a hole in my head.

Now I just sit and think, with such a high ranking, why won't people simply vote because they actually enjoy what I do here?  How did I get here if they did not enjoy it in the first place?  It seems as if many don't even want to look now, so they can't just assume it's bad and not worthy.  What's happening here?

Why must there always be strings attached?  I'm not complaining, I'm confused.  Are we voting for content or are we voting because someone is calling you over to vote?

OCD is a popular curation group.  Must I place a tag in my post pointing them here or fail to qualify for a vote by default if I do not (just using OCD as an example)?  It's often encouraged to use these group specific tags.  I'm positive there are many groups who require some kind of tag or they will not curate.  I've seen many posts; all five tags mention curation groups and nothing about the actual content.

As a content creator, I feel it's a bad business move to limit my potential viewership to the current following I have now and a handful of curation groups.  Rewards are nice but I didn't come here to farm rewards.  I'm a content creator, I'm here to provide my unique form of entertainment to as many potential eyes as possible and the rewards stem from those eyes.

Comedyopenmic crowd; I've been funny more times than I can count but if I don't enter their contest, chances are good I won't see a vote from many in that group.  I don't like entering contests.  I don't produce content to be a winner or loser every week.  Plus I donated to their prize pool so I felt like it would be silly to try to win that money back.

I tried the 'artzone' tag awhile back.  I'd get an automated vote and automated comment.  I haven't seen many from that group visit my space and vote all on their own or include my work as something worthy of their time if I do not use the tag.  They know who I am, but if I don't use that tag they're not allowed to look?  If the work is good enough when I use the tag, wouldn't it be good when I don't?

Curie.  They helped me get my start here.  My first rewards came from their efforts.  I think they only look out for new members though.  Or maybe I have too much SP?  I don't know.  I'll never see a vote from them now and I'm not going to sell my STEEM or start a new account just so I can qualify to be rewarded after I've worked so hard to build what I have here with this blog; and I kind of stand out like a sore thumb. I'm pretty sure people would be able to figure out who this "new guy" is.

Just know, I'm not knocking these groups down.

I support their efforts.  They do good work, all of them.  I'm simply confused.  Where does someone like me fit in?

I'll see names on the voter lists of trending posts.

Some of these people at one point would visit my blog, encourage me to carry on, pass votes my way.  Now they want me to pay, as they support advertisements or posts produced by people who only want to squeak out a few measly dollars profit after pulling $10-$500+ meaningless rewards out of the reward pool.

That's been a tough pill to swallow.  Some of those people don't even care how well their blogs do; don't care if anyone looks.  It's just a numbers game to them, yet they hoard much of the reward pool to themselves, and often earn less than everyone else.  That's a tremendous waste of resources and there aren't even enough available downvotes/flags to put those resources back into the reward pool so others who actually care, can earn.

Let's say the reward pool is worth one million dollars (it's very close to that in reality today), these wannabe content producer reward farmers are to be content with anywhere from a loss, to not much higher than 10% gains after purchasing those 'rewards'.  They are converting a reward pool worth one million dollars into a reward pool worth one hundred thousand dollars or less, if everyone took that road.

I can't wrap my head around that.  I don't see how one hundred thousand dollars spread among all content producers can seem more appealing than one million dollars.  I don't know where these folks went to school to learn business but wherever that was, the building should be condemned.

Content producers were in a panic over a potential 50/50 split with curators when they publish a post, but they're okay with only a 10% cut of the entire reward pool? I don't get it.

The well is drying up.

So many are paid to look away.

I hear talk of Alexa rankings.  They monitor web traffic.  This platform is on a steady decline.  Not as many are looking at this platform anymore.  Of course that's going to hurt every content producer here.

People try to blame Steemit Inc.  Pointing fingers, making up excuses, "Lame UI, slow progress, yadda-yadda-yadda, and fill in the blank _________."

When you point your finger at someone,

you have three fingers pointing back at yourself.

All of us here, we're given ten full power votes per day.  Many of us will hand out lower percentages so we can spread the wealth around to more people in one day.  If one individual is being paid to look away by selling their vote or delegating away their Steem Power, that's 10 less page views per day.  If they typically vote at 25%, that's 40 less page views per day.  If 1000 people are paid to look away, that's 10000-40000+ less potential page views — per day.

Currently, there are about 60000 posts published per day, and that includes comments.

So?  Who's fault is it again?

The platform's fault?  My fault?  You're here reading, consuming this content; is it your fault?  No.  None of the aforementioned.  It's the fault of those getting paid to look away combined with those providing the incentives to get paid to look away.

"It's just the bear market," they'll say.  Yeah, okay then.  Just like how people stop watching Netflix when their share value drops.  Just like how people stop using Facebook when their share value drops.  Just like how people stop driving Ford when their share value drops.  That was sarcasm, in case you couldn't tell.

A combination of people paid to look away (the only members we have) and the fact low quality content that typically receives low ratings (not trending status!) hits the actual few remaining eyes does and will continue to lead to less traffic on the platform.  This is not rocket science.  And again, the only people at fault for that are the ones being paid to look away and those providing the incentives to look away.  It's their SP behind the entire mess.  Nobody else here plays a role in it.

What can be done?

Provide incentives for people to look, curate, and power up STEEM.

If you voted for this post and I said, "Congratulations everyone!  I've doubled your curation rewards!"  Would you be impressed?  Would you be happier with this world if you got paid more per click?  How many times have you said, "My SP is low, I don't get much of a curation reward anyway, so I don't care."  Would increasing your curation reward lead to you having the ability to grow your pile of SP faster?

Straight up:  Would you feel more inclined to be entertained, vote, hold sp, vote more, earn more SP simply because you have more SP than you did the day before, let it build, and carry on like that, having fun, until you can earn enough to cover the costs of a cell phone each month?

That's exactly what a content consumer would be able to achieve here if we get our shit together.  Just imagine a world where watching Netflix is what paid for your Netflix subscription.  This is not impossible.

I'm a content producer as well as a curator.

When I heard people talking about a change involving a 50/50 split between content creators and curators instead of the 75/25 split we have today, I got excited.

The selfish content producer only sees a pay cut in that scenario.  The business side of me sees potential, as a content creator.

It's not unusual in business to take a lower percentage profit per unit (published post) with the hopes of earning more in bulk (more incoming votes).  If there's an incentive to vote (higher curation rewards), I assume more people with low SP all the way up to those with higher levels of SP will want to vote more often.  When those with low SP realize they earn even more per click if they have more SP, they might want to find ways to earn or buy more SP.  More accounts with higher SP means more accounts with higher valued votes.  More accounts with higher valued votes means content producers stand a chance of earning more, even though they take in a lower percentage per post.

It's easy to write that off and say it only looks good on paper but I'll just direct your attention back to the other piece of paper that tells people to look away.  You want it to look good on paper.  That other piece of paper, no matter how you write it, isn't going to look good, and we can actually see the results in real time.  There's nothing wrong with trying something but there's plenty wrong with not trying something out of fear of failure.  Don't be afraid to live a little.

Perfect timing.

Netcoins, remember?

Everyone got together and worked hard to have STEEM listed on Netcoins.  Soon people will be able to buy STEEM with cash, easily.

Now let's ask ourselves this question:

What do we want to see people doing with the STEEM they purchase?  Do we want to see them power up and contribute to the platform, or do we want to see them contribute to this mess of advertisements nobody wants to look at and people being paid to look away?  What's best for business?

Do we want them to have a reason to power up?  Do we want to see our content supported by potentially tens of thousands of new members who simply went to an ATM to purchase 100 STEEM, or do we just want to see them hand the money over to robots, grow their accounts at a much slower pace, and gain nothing but the headache I'm getting every time I look at this mess and wonder why nobody does a damn thing about it?

Something to think about, I guess.

Have a nice day.

linebreak1
Credits:
All art and images seen here were produced digitally, by me.
NoNamesLeftToUse Outro.png

"That's the chopped version. I'll save the rest of my thoughts for another day."

© 2018 @NoNamesLeftToUse.

Sort:  

Great piece.

Much of the discussion so far has tied those who are delegating to the bots as being the potential curators if the rewards model changed and so I like the netcoins - $100 - new curator part. And yes, we have accounts, large and small, who are bored of creating content stating they would curate more if the rewards were there.

With delegations (lasting a long time and very generously given) recently being pulled from teamsteem, ausbitbank, good-karma, and tribesteemup, this is another 1.6m SP out of the pool that was doing a reasonable level of manual curation.

I couldn't name 10 2/300k+ k SP manually curating, that doesn't sound too good.

Thanks, that was a good read :)

We spoke a few days ago about the positive impact unlocking hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of SP that's currently reserved for advertisements and paid programming would have on actual content producers. That's hundreds of thousands of new votes they didn't have before, big and small.

It was silly to place so much in so few hands and I'm shocked people didn't see this sooner, ten months, a year ago, when I and of course a few others started talking about it. Nobody wants to tune into a television channel that is majority advertisements and minority actual content. That's common sense and how that slipped under the radar here is baffling. Then again, it's not surprising when I consider the fact many of the posts on the trending page early on asking for these delegations and promoting the idea this mess was somehow a good idea were actually advertisements disguised as helpful blog posts. That's why I slammed Joe Parys recently. He was attempting to manipulate more into contributing to this mess.

One month, maybe two, under these circumstances, and this place is no longer a viable option for a business like mine. @ned wanted thousands of entrepreneurs here but most don't even recognize my efforts and the efforts of others here as actual business models. They think entrepreneur somehow only means app and development. Some got handouts, like dlive, took advantage of everyone, whereas I'm loyal and my business model depends on eyes and actual curation(I need eyes and curation anywhere I go). I could easily just go get a writing job or gig as digital artist. I can do more than what I share here under this entity. ..sorry dude, I'm rambling.

Rambles are interesting too.

I think there will be change, just not for a while. Which could be too long for some :(

I don't want to see a rush job, but at the same time, these issues have been dragging on and on, and gradually getting worse day by day. A slippery slope and winter's coming.

So many thoughts webt through my mind as I read this and I appreciate the perspective and transparency you have provided. I think a large problem here is that many believe that they can only be successful with a “herd mentality” in that you must do what everyone else does... This is probably due to the fact that there is little education on how the ecosystem works other than those promoted posts you mention that drive towards that behavior. I admit that it was there when I started and was what I first saw... “delegate here or promote there” for easy and quick rewards... I quickly saw the cannabilism that this encouraged in the long run. Although I have experimented along my journey, I believe that engagement is key to the future of this platform. I also think that a balanced approach is best whereas there are certainly projects and communities worth your time and delegation but it is best to broaden the reach to improve your experience. I enjoy manually curating as it enables me to find great posts like this one and add authors to my feed that I will enjoy. However, it also makes my investment in time continue to expand which makes it difficult to efficiently curate sometimes. While it doesn’t mean I will stop it also opens me to try different things like some auto-curation to communities and content creators I want to support given their track records. I may have gone off on a tangent but see my main goal as engaging which is where I think the ultimate value here lies... When I see these thoughtful posts, it inspires me that this experiment will come through for many as a great and fulfilling experience. Thanks for sharing!

10 months ago I wrote a post explaining why it's important to mark those advertisements disguised as helpful blog posts as advertisements, because that's what they are. Many folks have been misled by false advertising here. That's what started this mess. In a nutshell, lies.

When it comes to auto curation, I certainly don't mind, as a content producer, someone setting up a bot to vote on my work while they sleep, then them coming here later and leaving a comment. That happens all the time and I think it's fair. I can't expect them to follow my schedule. I've even considered using a bot like that lately but for two years, I've looked at content, voted manually. 22396 times to be exact and that includes this vote I'm now leaving on your comment I've just curated.

I'll take the rambling thoughts and embedded wisdom from one of the top veterans here any day. The now doesn't concern me to much though it is not as enjoyable posting every day and having a sparsely populated #CryptoPub

Mamma told me there would be days like these though so I am prepared for them. Low lows make for very enjoyable highs and I believe we will be there once again.

This lull at least gives me more time to build knowledge and be prepared to profit from the highs.

Looking forward to your next post!

Also, thanks to @abh12345 for the resteem otherwise I would not have found the content or given the opportunity to care.

I've been through plenty of ups and downs here. Never once did I expect smooth sailing and for everything to be perfect. Not once. When I was here working for 7 cent STEEM, I had no idea if that would ever increase in value. Just like then, today, the risk exists. It'll never go away. It takes a maniac to want to make this place work, I think, and as far as I know, there's still just enough crazies around to make it happen.

As for my next post, I don't know what that will be. You should probably have a look at my recent posts to get a better idea because this kind of post isn't my usual style... There's your fair warning.

Hey, @nonamelefttouse:

I believe you and I share the same creator's desire: we want engagement on our posts, along with some rewards. There really needs to be a balance, some ratio of that, to keep interest and to feel like our work is being seen, getting feedback—whatever it is we're individually looking for.

If a 50/50 split could do that, heck, if a 25/75 split would do it, I'd be more than willing to say, "Go for it."

I feel, though, that it's a pretty big if.

In my mind, there's a bunch of questions that need satisfactory answers. I'm not sure how we arrive at them without actually implementing this first, though, since a testnet isn't going to be able to significantly duplicate people's habits in this case. There's a lot to account for.

On a separate but related note:

Since you've been around longer, maybe you know. I wasn't here when it was 50/50 before. Any idea why they changed it? I know they changed quite a few things at once, too, rather than one thing at a time to see how each changed habits, or not. Now, they're asking for another package of changes, mostly to roll things back. Was it so much better before, and if so, why did the changes occur in the first place. Good or bad, there has to be a reason.

Yes I agree, it's a big if. Since many content creators left because of, reasons, I feel the next big push should be to attract thousands of curators. Instead of selling the place as somewhere people can get paid to write, sell it as somewhere people can get paid to consume content. Creators need the viewership more than ever and could see a rise in value of the content not only because of bulk incoming votes but because of an rise in token value due to thousands purchasing small amounts of STEEM so they can compete for curation reward. It's all a big if though.

I'm not sure if I was here when it was 50/50 before. I might have been. Back when I started, I didn't know anything about the place and I wasn't earning much. I did read, and unfortunately I'm not sure where, someone saying the change to 75/25 was an accident. Don't let me start rumors though, I could be wrong. I think if I dug around I'd be able to find something on that topic from a long time ago.

Well, if you find anything, let me know, but no worries, I could dig, too. I've tried in the past, but typically the search ends up with posts talking about the aftermath, so maybe another search will turn up something relevant.

re: curators

Well, I'm in full agreement we need many more curators. It would be great if some of the current content creators would just become curators. If that would cause an increase in earnings for creators despite the 33% drop in revenue, that would be great.

As you said, big ifs. Especially when red fish and minnow accounts out match dolphins, orcas and whales by several times over, meaning the vast majority of curators are still going to be red fish and minnows, which means incremental rewards at best for both the content creators and the smaller accounts curating.

I think we're in agreement on this, so I guess I don't need to go any further. I'm glad to have the discussion, though, because it's important to have in order for good decisions to be made. Hopefully someone who's in line to make changes is reading and weight it all. :)

I think that steem needs an XRP-like type of advertisement so that it can get the interest of investors and other people who could use this platform and use it to make steem more valuable.

Things need to be sorted out before advertising. If they see and ad, come here, see this mess, they're gone. We can't just lure naive investors into a project like this because they'll just buy and delegate, leave, and we're worse off than we were before the marketing push. With 50/50 split, at least it's easier to convince someone they can get paid to consume content. That's the type we need to attract. The one who wants to look, and get paid. There's never been a higher demand for actual curation.

is STEEM every going anywhere or are we spitting in the wind ?

It will go somewhere the moment people start working together. A lot of us don't want to give up. It's not up to STEEM though. It's up to us.

Sir,Very good analysis has been done thanks

We also do the same to those who rank high, but more than three-four upvote can not do the same in a day, power decreases.

I agree, the current state of the platform is bad and no one really knows how to fix it.

I've seen trending posts with 0 comments and post that barely make it to 10$ with 50+

The game is a bit screwed up right now and I think your fingers are pointed at the right reasons.

Not mine though my mom told me it was bad to point my fingers at strangers.

Posted using Partiko Android

Screenshot (496).png

Me. Under $10, 150 comments. I had the second most comments on the entire platform that day.

First of all DAMN! I had no idea it's 60 000 votes and comments per day :S That's a scary number.

I'm interested 50/50 but I have some issue with it. According to https://steemworld.org/@kristyglas I've earned 18SP for all time curation, so double would be only 36SP, while I'd have possibly lost a lot in terms of post payouts. I'd have to get double votes (in terms of value) per post for it to be not a loss at least. I kind of doubt that would happen...

Bid bots seem as a bigger problem as they take out rewards, and they'd earn even more with curation rewards :S

I think many people are just tired, tired to read and post. I know I am not motivated to make any big posts anytime soon, as it's not worth it. Which means I'm one of those people contributing less value to Steemit, hence Steemit loses value as there is less good content.
Unless someone is participating by posting, there is no incentive to read Steemit instead of FB/Reddit or any other free content platform... Bigger curation cut won't save the creators, but maybe tipping method, or ads or any other form of income might be a step.

Milestones like Patreon might not be a bad idea, for example X number of patrons or X amount needed to support specific project/post. Next special post will be published when X amount is reached. Might not work for Steemit, but maybe we should look for a new solution, instead of trying to fix something that people can't agree on, over and over.

I'd be taking a pay cut in that sense as well. Success of a 50/50 model all depends on if the incentives are enough to encourage people to use their SP and vote. There millions worth of SP locked up that can't be used for voting, all while this system was designed for the SP to be used for voting. Since it's not used for voting, there are problems.

I've earned 1225 SP curating. I'd be able to earn far more than half of that in half of the time because the more SP you have, the more rewards you get.

People are saying bid bots would earn more but I have trouble figuring out who would actually purchase the vote if they knew they were guaranteed to lose half. To break even someone would have to be dumb enough to sell $200 for $100. Factor in voting power as well. If bidbots had to increase the resources the put in, and get less out, I'm fine with that, as long as curation reward incentives are competitive so people can chase that easy money instead of wasting it investing in bidbots.

We can already tip. Just send money to someone. Skip the middleman though. Yesterday someone bought a vote for one of my comments and I nearly lost my mind. If they wanted to tip me, they could have just sent me the money directly instead of paying two people. The vote seller did not earn that tip. Plus the bought vote made it look like I boosted my own comment to the top of someones comment section, and that was embarrassing.

Yeah I think tipping should be made more popular, especially instead of buying votes. Maybe to make tips more visible? So people feel better for tipping?

Next, I think I understand now what you mean :D Yeah if it was more worth to curate instead of buying votes, maybe more people would do that. (I'm sure bidbots would change prices based on new system, but maybe there is a way to make unprofitable)
Some people will always grind whatever they can for cents, sometimes because of where they live like lower cost countries.

I've seen some of these people who grind out crap, buy votes, and earn pennies. They would have earned more clicking the vote button that day. Those kind of people can't be helped though. It think it's a mental illness. No amount of explanation with included mathematics to prove the point is ever enough. I've come across hundreds of these types.

Tipping is fine but for this economy, the tipper is almost better of deciding to spend a few thousand so they can tip forever using votes instead of tipping a few thousand until they are out of money.

Interesting, I do think better curation rewards would be good and would entice people to use their upvote more. In this scenario if self voting was also taken away it would do even more good but that's another issue to debate about.

There are many issues we can argue over. Even with new systems in place, there will be pros and cons. From a business standpoint, I'm able to see how a content producer could earn more than they do today by taking a 10 percent cut. For many, they don't understand this system enough and would think that's impossible. If you had a higher valued token, combined with tens of thousands of low to high value votes on your work, you'd need to give those tens of thousands a 90% cut or they wouldn't earn curation rewards. The content producer would be fine. The post value could be $1000, and the content producer takes $100. Selfish people would struggle with this though. As long as no ONE curator is getting more than the total the content producer is earning, it's a fair deal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67