What is this?

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit sounds like a great idea, so I've given it a good try, but I don't see much reason to value it over other offerings. (wordpress, for example)

I have seen censorship here, driven exactly the same way as everywhere else (by money - NOT ethics) so don't see the advantage I hoped I would.

As a blog platform, it works ok, but not great. No multi-image upload, for example, poor mobile support is another.

My understanding is that it could be a revenue-generating source. Maybe so, but with comment-spammers so vigorously gobbling up every ad-space they can grab, and the 'trending' page being SUCH a joke, I'm actually discouraged from posting photos here. For example, if I use certain hashtags, it will immediately look like I'm participating in a photography 'challenge', when really I am disgusted to be hosting their comment-spam.

So it was interesting to look at the revenue side of this, but it has only convinced me that it is not sensible to invest ANY serious money or time.

So what keeps you here? If it is real money, can you tell me a bit about it? If it is some functional area where steemit excels over wordpress (or the myriad other platforms) once again, tell me a bit about it.

Or, just comment spam and hope that it will get you an upvote, I guess...4724269146351041372.jpg

Sort:  

I stay, not because its better than anything else on a User Interface side, but for the idea. A decentralized blockchain based blog/social network that I can meet people from all over the world and at its core has none of the issues that something like facebook etc does.

Sure people can create accounts that flood comments and such, but I've never seen ads anywhere on the site outside of one that was put into a post itself.

Comment spam is a form of advertisement.
Gaming the trending page is advertisement.
Bots to vote are advertisement.

It's 90% of what I see on steemit. Abbott the same as Facebook et al

True, but that's not something that is built into the platform like a section for ads on Facebook. Its users abusing the system. Which in a relatively open system will happen.

It reminds me of the Eternal Golden Braid by...Hoffsteadter?

Maybe there is no getting out of the loops...

Congratulations @nwtdarren! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @nwtdarren! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78