Sort:  

Do you at least upvote the authors blog that you're replying on?

Ye I give about 10% to the ones I like which don't usually get much.

See, you upvoted your own reply instead of upvoting mine.

This defeats the purpose of upvoting something you like. Do you think?

A member may like someone's reply but not upvotes because they are upvoting themselves. This gives me no incentive to upvote your reply since you already did.

I always upvote myself because I like to. I didn't upvote your comment because I didn't think it was worthy of one. In other cases, I do upvote posts and comments that I like.

Oh okay, well I'm just making a point.

I still feel like people are not upvoting much because they only get 10 upvotes at 100% per day.

Unfortunately it is not mine or anybody elses (who's upvoting himself) problem. If it is actually harmful to the Steemit platform or Steem in general, it is up to the developers or others with power to fix it. Most people are going to pursue their own interests and if upvoting myself helps me, then I'm going to do it.

That's how i thought about it at first too. But now i feel like we can figure it out without waiting for the devs to fix it.

Also take your case as an example. You just gave yourself $5 or whatever. What difference does that make to your account of 10K? Almost nothing. Imagine if you gave 50 struggling authors 10 cents, they would be really happy with it and some of them might even start to publish fantastic content you and others are going to like for years.

Investing in others is much better, what goes around comes around they say, and they might have a point :)

Except that's not the case for me. As I said before, I do give upvotes to others aswell but the thing is that I'm a student with no job and the money in this account is only there as an investment. I will cash out the money I get from upvotes so they are not worth nothing to me.

You hit the nail square on the head. I can move forward now. Thank you.

Luckily going to hell doesn't require a conscience :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67576.09
ETH 3762.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72