///// I got 500 followers ?! //// OOPS ! Not really !!! ////

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Who really is following me ? (and You)

This morning I opened my blog's home page, and ...here it is - my new milestone: 500 followers.

500 ?!

500followers_f4f.jpg
Hmmm, looks great. I decided to make a post, and write a common "thank you " type post to my followers. And possibly - send a small prize, maybe ~10 SBD to my honored 500th place holder. But who really is my #500 place taker?
I opened database page
https://steemdb.com/@onealfa/followers
And , this was where I started to see an interesting, yet surprising and confusing figures


As the figure "500" on my home page was tumbling back-and-forth between 499 and 500 for a while, I decided to look closer, who exactly did that #500.
To my surprise , most of my last 7 followers all were newbies , who joined steemit only ONE week ago, yet with thousands and thousands of followers. So here are screen shots of some of them















Then I checked steemwhales.com, to see if such high numbers of followed persons are common these days. A new surprise.
Two of these followers, while showing 5000+ and 7000+ persons on their home pages, where not at all in the TOP-20 on steemwhales:

I went back to steemdb.com, to see more statistics. More surprise !
The persons followed, while being listed/sorted in chronological order, yet all were also listed alphabetically (!), by the first letter of the nickname. Your check out this yourself:

https://steemdb.com/@kishore1988/following
It looks to me, that most of those record-braking followers just use some bots, harvesting all the steemit users by the database, letter-by letter. All in a roll.
Mots likely, they never even have opened even one of my posts. I was simply been grabbed by a bot, because today was the turn for a letter "o", and my nick name starts with "o".
Here is some statistics, how the closest pretender to my prize was harvesting new victims, in the last three days

So, once this discovered, I have changed my mind regarding #500 prize. I don't care at all of being grabbed by a bot for a simple "follow-4-follow" reasons. I do not believe that this makes any good at all to steemit, and to the steemit community.

Am I wrong?



No F-4-F any more

I know, we all are humans, and all make mistakes. The first few weeks on steemit I was often asking to follow me, or encouraging to do this. No, I was not begging directly, like "pleazzz follow me, and I will follow you back" (F-4-F) . But once I reach close to 500 followed people on my own list, I suddenly have noticed, that this huge list is not so good. My feed page got overloaded with useless posts, and I figured out, that I maybe see (see, not read) only 10-20% of the posts in my feed, and read completely maybe 3% or 5% of them. Maybe even less (because I have no idea how many goes through my feed)
**So what's the point to have so many followers? **
no_f4f.jpg
Currently I am considering to go carefully through my whole list of followed persons, and un-follow 200-300 of them.
I can probably handle 200 on my list , and read, curate, upvote a good half of them.
However 500 seems to be quite and overload to me.

Your thoughts?

P.S.
Hundreds and hundreds of "unfolowed" been seen in the lists of my inspected steemdb.com data, and this was another weird thing.
Do these bots "follow" automatically everything they can find, and then, a few days later, make automatic "unfollow"?
Seems simple, "F-4-F" fans may discover they been followed, and naturally, they follow BACK. Job is done !
Now they can be released, unfolowed, just to make the list smaller.
If this is the case, I think it must get more publicity.
And get some open discussions, shall such bots be tolerated, or not.

P.P.S.

Good content speaks for itself. Always. It brings the clear message by itself, shall it be upvoted, resteemed, or followed for more.



@onealfa

Sort:  

Regarding bots, unfollowings - look what I found today:
https://steem.ly/4Y

15274 unfollowed in just one day . Top this !


Or this one. Crazy. Just wondering, why so exactly 28000. Is this the maximum capacity of this bot?

You are right, I also tried to follow the top 300 paid authors, but realized would be hard to identify them later, so I stopped at 50, now I only follow the ones that makes me want to read about! Great research you made here, thank you for showing us!

It all came out by accident, while I wanted to figure out the lucky 10 SBD winner. (BTW, prize was not promised in advance)
But I'm not willing to waste my funds on bots... haha :)
If I spend my precious time on writing, at least what I expect is - to be read. Not grabbed by bots

paskaityk apie tuos kurie komenuotja, bet nededa upvote nes puse kuriems uzdejai upvote komentaruose net nepasivargino uzdet upvote ant straipsio.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@deividas/did-you-notice-that-lately-a-lot-of-people-leave-positive-comments-but-don-t-upvote-the-actual-post

I understand, still a lot of "tricks" to try to fool the system, but this kind of posts will make us aware of the existence of this, hopefuly the rules keep changing for the good of the system, I also consider that the flag feature can damage a lot, and the poor encourage to update posts because of not earning anymore after 7 days... There should be educational tutorials/page of what's currently happen with the good strategies and common mistakes of use here on steemit. And constantly updated to save us time searching on older posts.

Nice job @onealfa, you dug a lot of information about them new users. I myself had similar idea since i follow like 1200 people, but i barely have time to even go through my feed page. Need to reconsider maybe better less, but valuable.

We should have a 'follower' count and 'engaged with you' counts too. Who's voted for you ever, who's commented on your blog, who's replied to a comment elsewhere. I'm almost at 900, I've only authored 20 blogs, some receiving less than 10 views!

I agree. It's a waste to "follow" people if you are not going to read their content, give upvotes, resteem, and not interact with them. Let's add the "engaged with you" counts.

hey @onealfa, just wanted to let you know that i'm a real follower :p

you can check out my profile and it should prove it. anyway, i've been experiencing the same thing with my followers. pretty sure a big fraction of them are bots!

Mmmk HOLY SMOKES. I was on my way out for a quick fast food run but I was compelled to read this. Man! The bots are out and running shenanigans 🤖! This really hones in for me how important it is to build your own personalized community on here. I'm new and I am realizing how important it is to take the time to choose carefully and to build those micro relationships. It's supportive, brings in the content related to your interests, and it helps keep your own content authentic. Thanks for the reminder and way to investigate!!! Bravo! I am resteeming this pronto!

When i see comments that say follow for follow on my posts, i don't rly pay attention to it, i have been very active because i just don't have a life Haha. but i make my content mine and will be expressive and creative.

Being a mindless robot is not profitable in the long run, being authentic is :)

Hi @onealfa, I always read your posts since I started following you. :D

I think they need to set a limit on how many people you can follow. Problem solved.

Thanks for the data, I'm going to look more closely at it in a bit, but I think I'm learning a few things from you. :)

Just to you know I'm a follower and I'm real :)

Thank you to share this information and help new Steemers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71