You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This is Very Frustrating – Stop Blaming the Whales

in #steemit6 years ago

I have no empathy for Whales who flag people to death for no other reason than a difference of opinion on not flagging unwitting followers, ..none! Why on earth would any one want to be here to have all their open posts targeted? Videos that took days to record and edit no longer appear on my account, courtesy of a whale. We also finished shooting an action movie, also, none of it coming here courtesy of a whale! I will no longer post anything that took longer than a few minutes and I won't pay some bot farm to have my stuff seen. In the mean time enjoy the one liner shit posts floating to the top on $100+ selfie votes.

Want good content? Protect it. Most don't give a hoot what happens to others as long as it doesn't happen to themselves. As a result some very good content creators are leaving, or have already left. How many accounts are there? How many of those are actually active? ..15%?

I like your sense of community support and agree with the principle, but I don't find much of it here. Instead I find upvote groups that don't venture out much, I find whales that selfie vote 10 times a day, and selfie vote again with their 14 bots.

(should I say, greedings?) Greetings!

Sort:  

hay @onnovocks and thank you for sharing your concerns. These concerns are shared by many and that 15% really hit me hard and upset me. we are losing to many quality creators because the shit floats to the top.

But posts like this ( look at the engagement level) show that people want to interact and be part of social networking, and for that part, rewards are not the most important factor. Human touch is the key.

Its a pity you have bot found much community support, in fact I am surprised considering how well you are interacting

When a cranky whale comes after you, people run and hide. I understand, but I don't have to like that fact. Didn't mean to upset you, but felt that sharing some of the figures I got elsewhere are relevant in the discussion. We aren't the only ones noticing people leaving or going inactive. Here is a post from @snowpea lamenting the loss of some folks whose work/presence she clearly appreciated: https://steemit.com/blog/@snowpea/to-the-missing-steemians

I personally also know some who have gone inactive and I know of one who announced an exact quit date. That's a shame, her writings, knowledge of languages and literature in general are brilliant.

P.S. The engagement on this post is great indeed, lots of folks looking and thinking about this!
Thank you for your time,
Greetings!

P.S. The engagement on this post is great inded, lots of folks looking and thinking about this!
Thank you for your time,
Greetings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67332.03
ETH 3499.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25