Why Is SBD So High?

in #steemit6 years ago

So over the past month I've been reading comments here and there about SBD prices.

Some are for it. And naturally, some are against it.

The main theory I've read as to why SBD is so high: whale manipulation to earn more on their posts

Regardless of your position on a high SBD, is there an objective reason as to why SBD's price is significantly over the $1.00 quoted stable price?

With SBD's constantly being printed, they are only removed from circulation when converted to STEEM. If not converted to STEEM, I don't understand the underlying value of having SBDs other than selling it for other tokens. I feel like I'm missing something here, so I gotta ask, why would anyone buy SBD as an investment opportunity?

Thanks so much everyone!

Sort:  

this is my question too!?

That's the thing too, that while STEEM is removed from circulation when powered up, it's still in the total supply and people powering down to cash out at later times could cause a big depression on the price.

I'm more concerned about how STEEM will perform in the long run. If we keep printing money like this then 15-20 years from now it'll be worth like a trillion dollars

Great post.

I'm very new here on steemit, but as I understand SBD is linked to US dollar value. Recently USD has dived compared to other currencies. The question is: should SBD have dived with USD or not?

now,with yor writing, i get news update. thank you for writing this beautifully.

hi.orangsphere how are you my friend..whats your country name

I don't understand a lot of things with all this, but when I log on and the value of my account has gone up each day I kind of forget about the fact I dont quite understand!

Haha, I do that sometimes too. Sometimes I just don't want to understand :p

Congratulations @orangesphere! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @orangesphere! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

hey so nice I really like your post! Lets make steemit together to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you? Look my Introduceyourself like I do it. I went to jail because of cryptos : https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@mykarma/3-jail-review-from-colombia-to-madrid-and-then-straight-to-jailng-time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68