You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let’s Grow Steemit Together - Direct Engagement Experiment Week #1

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I'm glad to see that someone out there does care about user retention. It's a well known fact that a majority of the dormant or inactive accounts on steemit are newly registered accounts and a smaller fraction to accounts with lost passwords. You would hardly see an account that has been built up to high rep holding being dormant.
In this lies the problem:
"Newbies get the wrong idea about steemit, they go to the website and see trending posts worth huge amounts and because they do not know how to navigate the platform, fail to go through the new posts and see firsthand how most newbie posts do so they walk in here, expecting to be rich by the end of the week with no investments or anything of such. The result is that for most new accounts, they end up wondering why the weren't able to get even a $1.00 worth of upvotes by the end of the week."
Here's my solution:

  • We need a platform working at the #introduceyourself tag to welcome and greet these newbies and direct them to groups that can help them such as #newbieresteemday #newbiegames #minnowsupport, e.t.c I do not know all of them.
  • We need to set up a discord channel(s) that this platform will put out as an invite on the welcome comment, the purpose of this channel would be to give the newbies a proper orientation about what they are in for, what to do and what not to do.
  • I would suggest an account to be set up with enough SP contributions to support and incentivize these newbies till they attain a certain reputation score by which time they must be attached to the platform enough to stay on their own...kinda like you treat babies!

I hope this helps! @paulag

Sort:  

helps! wow what an awesome reply. And yes there are a good few of us concerned with retention.

At the moment I think (but I could be wrong) steemit chat is mentioned in the initial email. and again I could be wrong but minnowsupport is the official orientation program.
Although discord is fantastic, with any luck hivemind (the community feature on steemit) will be ready soon. Maybe it would be more in tune with steemit to get ready to build the community here?

heheh wish I had enough SP to support all the newbies

Well, you seem connected enough...why not make a post about it eh? I mean even with so much on your plate, look how good this post is doing #winks

in terms of engagement, this post is rocking, but i could spend my time doing data posts and earning high payouts. because of the level of engagement on this post, I haven't had the time.

This post is not about my connections, it about connecting others, meeting new people & networking

heheh wish I had enough SP to support all the newbies
I'm only saying that if you did think the idea was solid and SP is the only thing standing in the way of its implementation. Then surely other people may buy into it too. And we could all pull resources together to make it happen. I could make a post about it but I doubt that it would have as much impact as yours would considering your profile and followers. A post from you (if you had the time) would have the ability to reach more people. I hope my use of the word "connections" did not send a different message.

not the wrong message at all. Getting funding is not as easy as writing a post, there are many communities trying support with people that have more connections than i. The problem is now trying to compete for funding when the lease business is so ripe. Let me think about the idea some more.

Thanks dear! @paulag. I hope your stats collection is doing just fine? do have a lovely day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83