What Steemit is For Me

in #steemit4 years ago

There are lots of people, witnesses included, leaving for Hive, but while I'm on Hive as well as Steemit, I don't view Hive as Steemit, but merely yet another blockchain that is running the Steemit code. Much in the same light as Weku. For those that don't recall, Weku was a thing that launched running the Steemit code and nodes and was intended to be yet another Steemit clone that would or could crush Steemit. The whale maker, the fresh start.

Well, sorry to say, but I view Hive in the same light at the moment that I currently view Weku. Weku is now long since dead and mostly forgotten by many it seems so far, at least on Twitter. If anything, @Phoneinf has been making tons of valid points, albeit in a hostile tone, but it's to be expected when people are trashing a network and brand that he's been so hard at pushing for so long. He too has seen things like Weku and Hive come and go time and time again and each time everyone flocks back to Steemit. Honestly, at first I was annoyed by the Hive spam, but I figured if nothing else I can mirror my video content to Hive and do similar to what I did with Weku, just use it as a potential backup and if it takes off, then it takes off, if it doesn't, then I'm not really out anything since my content was primarily for YouTube and dlive. Now it's YouTube and dTube since dlive decided to fuck right off to the Lino network.

So for me, Steemit means something that's likely to be around a while, even if it's prices tank a little. That's fine. Cryptocurrencies do that a lot, they fluctuate. Things will eventually settle down. Steemit will still be here and many of the big names will flock over to Hive where they will continue to be whales and Steemit will have a fresher start once again. No big deal.

I will continue to support the Steemit platform. Much like how I use Bitchute and archive.org as a backup for my YouTube videos, same too do I use Hive as a backup of my Steemit, which also hosts my YouTube videos, art, poetry, blogs, and other misc details I choose to share about my life and interests. Steemit will likely be around for the long haul even still. I don't think the creation of other blockchains based on it's code is going to change anything about that. Let alone is it going to change things if Steemit Inc changes hands yet again, it's not a big deal. Companies get sold off, companies merge, things happen, big whoop. They're still providing me with a service that I benefit greatly from.

I'm not after the income, though it's certainly nice to see it tick up, not going to lie, but it's not everything to me. It's more of a Pavlov's dog sort of effect for me at this point and regardless of who owns Steemit, I'll continue to be here until the very end of Steemit. Even if that means I end up losing my wallet in the end, oh well, it wasn't that important to me to begin with. I just enjoy the community. Steemit to me still feels very well alive and kicking and Hive... well let's just say Hive feels empty and dead even though it has so many of my friends there.

Steemit is still a good community, even with all those that have left. Hopefully, they've taken care of the spam bot problem. That was a bit on the annoying side. But I'm still here, I'm not going anywhere. While I am on Hive, I'm also on Steemit, and I expect Hive will go the route of Weku eventually, only time will tell. So far, Steemit has been the major one to continue to survive regardless of the Weku's that have popped up, and I've seen several, not just Weku, it's just the main one I'm mentioning besides Hive.

So I wouldn't fret. Steemit will continue to be around for years to come. And Dtube being on Steemit is fantastic because that DTC brah. Even if I'm only getting a couple cents worth of Steem, that DTC is pretty good, not gonna lie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86