You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Don't Want to be a Sellout and a Few Other Things I Find Somewhat Humorous About This Place

in #steemit6 years ago

These are great ideas. I like the advertising option and the the idea of moving bidbotted content to a separate tab. I'm not too sure about the Promoted tab, though. I know that I personally never browse through those posts. Why would I want to read posts which have paid their way past the somewhat intelligent human filter? Or maybe that's the point;) One idea I had was to also have a lot of filtering options like on YouTube. Something like "Most upvoted by number", "Most upvoted by value", "Most views", "Most comments", "Most views by visitors who spent enough time on the post to actually be able to read it" (might not be possible)...

Or maybe we could just make an antibidbot to which people can delegate Steem which will be used to flag bidbotted posts?

Sort:  

I've been fine tuning as I go and now think the ideal place would be a MARKET tab, something new. Even an entirely new DAPP that caters specifically to those who want to promote using bidbots to jockey for position, then the feed from that DAPP is connected to the publishing tools here or DTUBE, etc, and that's where this list I mentioned comes into a play. One could browse before publishing from the market feed, then place simple banners that lead to the promotions.

As for the flags, well, the thing is, if someone is willing to spend $500-1000 or more to have their promotion placed inside blog posts, they better make it something good, or they will be suffering a heavy loss because nobody will select it, and they will not get their views. It's no problem if people want to spend money and promote shit, if it's not sitting on the trending page taking up space and pissing people off, right? It's their loss and only their loss. They bought STEEM, so we win, and the promoters made money, so they win. Those promoting would have to step up their game, or fail.

What I'm suggesting here has the potential to make a lot of money, and solve a lot of problems all in one. It's more about taking what we have and making everything work together, rather than against each other.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63700.12
ETH 3136.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83