You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A rant on an addiction called Steemit!

in #steemit6 years ago

Glad I'm not the only one 😅
I got started recently too and like most platforms like this there is that positive reinforcement/dopamine hit cycle that gets you hooked. And that's fair enough, at least we know how that works and can cope with that. But I too felt like something was inbalanced here. Posts that seem to be successful (measured by $ value) are disproportionately helped by a couple of likes from a few 'influencial' accounts. I've not said this out loud because I thought I don't understand the statement yet, but does that mean

  1. It takes money to make money and
  2. It matters who you know.

If you take just those two ideas together, there's services like minnow-something that lets you feed the account some steem, mention a post and it'll upvote you until you make back at least how much you spent. It's a votebot! The system encourages you to buy Steem to make more Steem faster. There's a few people being very successful at it and I'm guessing most who aren't. And a network can't be built by people who are all creating content. Who's the consumer? I won't use the P word here yet, but I guess I needed a place to vent myself.

I've not given up on this yet, but I am a little less enthusiast overall.

Sort:  

Yeah i Am going to give it a try for a bit too. Let's see how it goes. You don't loose hope.the motivation factor indeed goes down but who knows it might just click. I made this post for people to vent. I am happy you started it. It's good to see some sort of response. Because after a while I felt even to make people listen to my rant I needed to be famous.

Have you watched this black mirror episode called Nosedive? I'd recommend it given the context.

No I haven't. I will for sure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69344.82
ETH 3616.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19