Introducing Steemit and Bitshares at the First Tallaght Crypto Meetup

in #steemit6 years ago

Last night I co-hosted my first CryptoCurrency and Blockchain Meetup and it was an awesome success.  I set up the meetup on meetups.com not knowing if there would be interest in my local area.  Within a few days of having the meetup set up, I reach the limit of members on Meetup and had to get premium membership so everyone could join.

There are now 85 members on the meetups page.  For the Meetup last night we had 24 including myself RSVP.  Numbers were looking okay but I was still nervous that only a few of these would turn up.

Just a quick bit about Tallaght  - Situated in the south west of Dublin suburbs it has a population of approx. 75K.  You can read more here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tallaght

Wow what an awesome event – 12 people turned up

We all started by introducing ourselves, name and experience with crypto to date. John, the co-host is a fully time crypto trader, there was also another experienced trader there, a developer, a miner(with a rather big farm), and entrepreneur present.  The level of knowledge ranged from none to quite a lot!

After the introductions I spoke about the ability to ‘earn’ crypto.  I talked about Steemit and all of the apps now available, such as Dtube and Utopian.

John spent some time talking about altcoins and trading, before we moved on to exchanges.  After a little talk about Bitshares DEX, I went ahead and demonstrated how to set up a bitshares accounts.

Finally I introduced Palmpay and the opportunity this app gives to retailers.  After this thing were very informal.  Everyone was chatting and gleaning information and many agreed to come again.  I left at around 21:45 and everyone was still enjoying themselves.

I have put some links on the meetups discussion page about Steemit and Bitshares so attendees can follow up

https://www.meetup.com/Tallaght-Cyrpto-Meetup/discussions/

After the next meetup I hope to be reporting that many of them are on Steemit and using some of the DApps built around it.

You can check out the meetup page ( and yea I know, crypto is spelt wrong…) for last night event

https://www.meetup.com/Tallaght-Cyrpto-Meetup/events/246962772/

Want to check out our next meetup, you can find details here

https://www.meetup.com/Tallaght-Cyrpto-Meetup/events/ncmdjpyxfbvb/

A bit thanks to @agorise , @kencode and team for encouraging me to do this meetup and supporting many others do the same.  

I took 3 pictures and I must apologies to the community for how bad they are...

 

   

Sort:  

I took 3 pictures and I must apologies to the community for how bad they are...

uhhh yea, they are really bad. When did you take them, in 2004?;-)

I like how much you invest in Steem. Aren't you interested in becoming a witness? I would vote for you.

bitshares wasn't about in 2004, if you zoom in you will see the exchange on the laptop - funny how terrible they are. Should I enter them to a crypto photography challenge, the worst pictures of 2018

Witness - its on the cards for the future but I would like to have a little more time to spare so i can give it the attention it deserves

That camera was getting more and more drunk with each shot! :P

lol it seems that way ...

congratulations you successfully host CryptoCurrency and Blockchain Meetup, your business is very extraordinary, every positive thing will certainly ages positive results as well.
Good post friend @paulag
I upvote and resteem

Looks like a really productive meeting for the inaugural session.

The time has arrived it seems. The people want to know about crypto.

Glad you didn't tag this with #photography ;-)

I couldn't resist the dig. :-D

I have not had the opportunity to go to a steemit event yet. I'm anxious to go

The best meet up Miss Paulag. Your post can motivated us in steemit

Hello @paulag .

good information for your continued progress of accreditation. for the sake of progress together please help us ..

Greetings from us @mawardy

Its awesome meeting @paulag...congratulation to all...

a very good post I will if you have a chance please visit my blog once in a while

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55