You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Social App Developers Should Avoid Protocol Development, and Vice Versa

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Great article @andrarchy, running a business can be hard but its crucial and critical to identify your customer. Good to see that has happened.

I am not a dev and always felt not being a dev has put me at a disadvantage on steem, obviously devs argued that was not true.

My fear is, as a creator and an experienced steem user, many of the current apps are not sustainable without steemit incs delegation. Some have no plans to really work on on boarding and most also have not much in the way of business skills and the other skills needed to make their app a business. They are devs focusing on a product, just like steemit inc.. I don't know steemit inc delegation policy, but I think its in need of review. at the end of the day, this SP was meant to be non voting SP. If the developers are not going to actually start growing a business then its a waste of the rewards pool.

So where does that leave the creator? Well I still see it as an opportunity. As a blogger prior to steem I know the value of owning content and not letting a third party have control. For Example Dlive had control over storage of replays and as I did not move with them, well I could have easily lost my content, many people did.

@steempress-io on the other had has no control over my content, if they go, my blog stays. This is very important, relying on third parties to hold your content (and earnings) is control I want to give to no one. I’m not leaving my self at the hands of someone else’s decisions.

As a content creator, I am still excited. As a business woman I am still concerned however as a steem user I am still shilling :-)

Thanks for the article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81