MY HACKED ACCOUNT AND PREVENTIVE MEASURES

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

image


It's a disappointing story. But, I just have to try to put this down. Like seriously, I don't know how to write in this as this. At the moment I just have to. Take it easy with me, I am coming through with what you know me for. Sincerely, I don't know where to start from. The state of how everything happened is still what I can't explain till date. Putting this down, perhaps, someone can learn from.

Couple of weeks ago, I noticed a transfer was done without my consent of which about 44SBDs was transferred from my account to blocktrade. For those of us in Nigeria, you can relate with me how much that will be when converted in naira. That should be about over 100k transaction. I realised my account has been tempered with by an unknown (anonymous).

It became so complicated to handle that I couldn't detect where the main problem was coming from.

It all began in a mere network issue, I felt it would be resolved when the network is restored. But, never was it as I was prevented from commenting and posting. Each time I tried posting, a statement from beneath reads thus: missing posting authority

image

Away from this, quite frustrating you know; I realised my reputation reduced from 52 down to 25. Having waited for about two days. Nothing was done to it, it remind static was it were. And, I thought of finding out a solution to this. Had a chat with my steemit colleagues, where I had to explained to them about my inability to post and reputation problem.

image

All effort towards proffering solution was to no avail. It occurred to me my password had been accessed by an unknown. Reasons have it that since I couldn't identify myself with my posting key, I thought it wise to use my master key. Often times, i tired logging, it reveals wrong password. It then occurred that since I couldn't log in with my usual key, my password was hacked realising my SBDs was transferred as well.

After, a day or two, @samsticks and @onyemacourage suggested to report to [email protected] and probably to @steemit. With the help of @onyemacourage we were able to track the link but unable to trace the wallet from which the SBD had been transferred into coin and stored as feedback would have it.

image

I wouldn't want to go on and on to put down in words how I felt when I heard of the sad news. But, It was just a bad terrible day for me.

image

PREVENTIVE MEASURES OR HOW TO AVOID YOUR ACCOUNT FROM BEING HACKED
I want to leave my readers with the following measures to adhered to. They include:

• Guide your phone in such a way that you are careful who you handle or g oh very your phone to. Especially, for those of us whose mastery key or owner's key password is stored in your phone. Better still, you can save your password in your personal computer system or in a flash. Just make sure it is safe in a place only you can have access to.

• Don't login to any third party sites with your owner's password. Be cautious where you link or log into.

image

However, a friend mention if this and I felt like sharing.

"The kind of applications you have in your phone or PC are very important. Download application (s) from play store alone. Some apps are trojanized with and loaded stealers".
@enolife

Importantly, I wouldn't fail to appreciate each and everyone of you who stood by me when I needed you the most althrough, the last two weeks. The mentioned persons relieved me the stress and everything associated with when it occurred to you that you've misplaced something so important. For me, it was my SBD.

@samsticks, knowing @samsticks from the days of genesisproject, he had taught me a lot and strategies to employ to succeed here. He's an amazing leader with much instances I can't explain here. Without him,i don't think I will be here doing this at the moment. Through him, I could get back on my feet with my reputation and steem power. I have imagined starting all over again as a newbie. That he made impossible and coming through now and here possible. Thank you so much @samsticks for everything.

I also want to appreciate @ogoowinner for her follow up. She had been great and always availabke as demands will have it. I could freely complain to her for a solution when need be. Thank you so much for your time, advices and counsel.

The list is endless, I would also wanna appreciate @ttopswag. If I have wanted a twin in this world or in the next word to come. I would choose you to be my twin. Sounds funny right??? Godwin. You aren't just a friend, but u have proven to me there could be a friend closer and could do more than a brother. Knowing you had been one of the best thing that happened to me. Glad we knew. Hope to see you someday.

And to @samminator, you have motivated me into technology and science writing. That young dude with tech. writing styles. Let me stay in my lane sha. Thanks for everything. You have always been there for me. I appreciate your love and kindness showed to me.

Also, to @vic-essien, @joshuaetim, @evelyniroh @nexrules, @ungest, @ekjosh, @ enolife, @onyeamcourage. Thanks so much for coming through. You guys defined what friendship was to me in these few weeks I was away. I have tried to be reserve from saying some other things otherwise this page will be loading with much stories and narration. To @ungest, indeed you are friend, @vic-essien, trust me we are in this together; @joshuaetim, thanks for coming through at the moment. @onyeacourage thank U big time.

Won't fail to mention @doris-chioma @aideedavies (plenty love from me to you) @siken-eyen (thanks for everything dear I am glad I knew you) @ jeline @kweenzy @zynorna @estherikott @lizzieharrison @xpressng( thanks for the donation dear. I so much appreciate) @rachelrick. Can't mention all in one breath. Thank you all for coming through in moment as this.

I am glad to be back here in steemit. I promise to give you all the best of @peterwrites. Trust me. Anticipate my post soon.

image

ALL IMAGES USED IN THIS POST WAS EXTRACTED FROM MY GALLERY.

Sort:  

sorry dear...its gonna be well

Head up high... you'll be able to get more SBDs by writing good contents..

Thanks for coming through first of all. And trust me, coming with fresh post soon and hope you enjoy reading through.
#fiction #creative writing #poetry #articles
Thank you. You all and your comment, keeps me going.

Welcome back bro. I bet you, you'll make tenfold of what you've lost this time. Amen

Welcome back to Club, I couldn't keep mute, we were all affected by this as a family and as Uyo community.

Having you back on the steem blockchain is a feeling I find indescribable. Wishing you greater things ahead.

Glad you came through. Thank You Jo

Welcome back pal

Welcome back bro. The steemit journey continues. If you could make 44SBD before, you can do it again in multiple fold. Just be very security conscious. I wish you all the best and thanks for the advise.

Hello @profchydon
Thank you for coming through. Thanks for the advice. 🤞🤞🤞

You are strong.
Am glad you could survive that experience and stand up tall again.
Welcome back dear, am delighted knowing I was a part of your comfort, continue steeming, no shaking!!!

Hello @sikan-eyen
I love you 😘😘😘 for everything.

It's well dear, greater heights awaits you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72