Newbie Nuggets: How To Profit From Commenting On Other People's Posts

in #steemit7 years ago


Image Source

One of the reasons that I loved blogging at Steemit is the comments that I received for each of my post. There is so much love, support and encouragement from these comments. And when the earnings for the post are low, it is these comments that keep me going.

But I have come across some comments which are very generic and are not at all related to the subject matter. Example of such comments are “Nice Post”, “I vote for you please vote for me in return and follow me.” I took part in a color challenge with just a few lines of write-up and the comment that I received was “Very detailed post, I know you put in a lot of effort”. I was thinking, what the heck! Did these guys even bother to read my post in the first place or did they simply just copy and paste the same comments. It is very tempting but at times I have to restrain myself from down-voting these comments.
Therefore to make your comments stand out and appreciated, just following simple guidelines:-


Image Source

1. Read The Post

Read the damn post. This will give you the content and context of the post including the ideas or views or information that the author is trying to convey. In this way the comments that you make will not be out of topic.


Image Source

2. Ask Questions

If there is something that you don’t understand or that you want clarified, ask a question. It can be something as simple as the location of a photograph, asking for hotel recommendation if the post is about a vacation, etc.


Image Source

3. Ensure That Your Comments Add Value To the Post

As an author, I deeply appreciate comments that add depth to my article. My article becomes more interesting and in-depth. And in quite a few instances these comments actually gave me the ideas to create new content.


Image Source

4. Provide Feedback To The Author

As an author, I am constantly looking for feedback from my readers. Do the readers like my article or do they hate it? Should I continue to write more articles on the same topic or should l switch to other topics? How useful was the article, did it really help the readers to solve their problems. Therefore if your comments can provide valuable feedback to the author, these comments will be deeply appreciated by the author. So instead of just commenting nice post, state why you liked the post.

You do not necessarily have to agree with the views of the author. Just make sure that you state your own views in a respectful manner. Share with the author if you have similar or different experience on the topic.


Image Source

5. Never Spam Your Comments

@steemcleaners are not only looking for spam posts but spam comments as well. Therefore if you spam your comments you will not only piss off the author but you maybe flagged by @steemcleaners as well. Go your quality comments instead of quantity.

Your comments are like your conversation with the author, make them engaging and you will not go wrong. If you take the time to write quality comments, it is more likely to be up-voted not only by the author but also other readers as well. The quality of your comments will give an indication of the quality of your posts. Once I have read good comments, I am more inclined to visit the profile of the reader and follow him. So do put in the time and effort to write quality comments and you will be duly rewarded as well.


Follow me and stay positive.

Do check out my previous posts.

Positive Reflections: The Day I Walked On Hot Coals
Positive Reflections: How To Make Every Day A Great Day
Color Challenge Sunday Purple: Street Art Of Georgetown, Penang
Your Computer May Have Been Used For Mining Cryptocurrency Without Your Knowledge
Positive Reflections: Are We Majoring In Minor Things

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

It's like tilting at windmills. This is the biggest downside of the social media sites, where the opportunity of the money earning is involved.
The lack of the real, authentic interactions/communications/conversations and a lot of spammers.
A lot of people who write comments just want attention on their own profiles/posts, gain new followers and/or upvote(s) on their comment(s).
They are doing that (commenting under other people's posts) only for their own good.
A lot of people use this site ONLY for the money and they won't write a real, engaging comment. They won't even read your/mine (or anyone else's) blog post(s). The spammers just don't (care about it). Your blog post is meaningful and have a great message about the community and the interactions/conversations, but the spammers just don't care about it.
A lot of people will probably don't like my opinion, because I wrote the truth, but you asked for my own views in a respectful manner and this is it!

Thank you for reading!

Enjoy Steemit!
Have a nice day!

Thank you taking the time to craft such a wonderful reply. From experience, most comments that i receive are great and I really appreciate that. These comments actually motivate me to post on a daily basis. But for the few spam comments, these newbies may not know better and I hope that this post will be able to educate them. It is my hope that more newbies can see this post and abide by my tips so that together we can create a better environment for all at Steemit. Following you now.

Sure I get spammers, and the persistent ones, I flag. But after being on this platform for a year now, I regularly receive great comments and interaction from people. I'm discovering a great community, even if I have to tune out some "static".

This is on of the best posts I have read on Steemit. The whole idea of meaningful dialogue, gets short change. However, many thoughtful and intelligent or insightful comments go unanswered, unread, or unresponded to. Even if they are replied to, and appreciated, they are not getting upvoted.
Perhaps we should have a hashtag that specifically invites true dialogue, so we know the poster is interesested. Great points here, will follow.

Thank you for taking the time and effort for drafting such a meaningful comments. I am glad that liked my post. I hope that if possible you will be kind enough to re-steem this post so that more will get to read this message.

I agree COMPLETELY! I’ve only written a couple of actual posts, but I’ve commented on quite a few and have noticed that much of the time comments (mine and others’) seem to go unnoticed by the author and the other readers. Sometimes even the bots don’t seem to be paying attention! This is definitely one of the best posts I’ve read on Steemit, we newbies need all the help we can get!

Do you mind to re-steem this so that more will get to read the post and abide by these simple rules. Following you now.

I am new to Steemit and your information is very useful and I benefited from it. We are all very disappointed when we waste time and effort in spreading information and in the end we do not get support, but the idea of making comments is a very good idea. Thank you.

By making comments you are interacting with the community. People will begin to notice you and your posts. Steemit is just like any other community, you need the support of others to succeed. Since you find this useful, can you re-steem this so that others can also benefit from this post. Following you.

you are right sir and I will resteem your post since it is useful

Thank you very much for your support.

yeah i am trying to come to terms with everything you spoke about here as a new member i find there is a great amount of support here to help push creators to really think about the content. Good article. You have my follow!

Thanks for following. Steemit is a very supportive platform and the community here tries to help minnows where possible. Can I ask you to resteem this post so that more can learn these helpful tips. Following you.

Comments are meant to be useful discussions related to the post. I agree, questions and additional info add value to the post. Thanks for taking time to pen down these 5 points which will be very useful for newbie. I hope this post reaches to many people[that is another problem with Steemit :( ]

I am so happy that you find this post very useful. Like you, I hope that this post will reach many people and you can help by resteeming this post. Following you.

Thanks to write this useful guide for newbie, I think all of your tips are great tips and they will help new steemians to make this community a nice place! I hope every newbie will follow your tips ^_^

I hope that more can get to read this post. If more people follow these simple tips, all users will get better experience at Steemit. Grateful if you can re-steem to pass this message.

People will have to get used to the new platform. In the beginning the steem$ make people want to try some of the BS you mentioned. People have to grow accustomed to what this is.

Read, ask questions, be yourself basically; is good advice.

I hope that newbies read this so that they will not waste their time spamming comments. Following you.

Great post. Take heart in the fact that the people that do these things are extremely easy to spot and IGNORE. Yes guys, people will not be following you or upvoting anything you put out there. Is it really worth it? Upvoted and followed.

I always ignore spammers and do not let them affect me. If the objective of these spammers is to get up-votes and followers, then my tips would certainly help them. Following you.

Thanks, your positivity is delightful.

"Very detailed post, I know you put in a lot of effort” lol No, really... good post! Some days I wish Steemit had a simple delete function, or a comment approval feature like on my regular WP blog. A downvote option would also be good. Everyone on Steemit will eventually come to know that spammy posts are just a waste of time, hopefully.

You can actually down vote a comment but I don't usually do that. I mostly ignore spam comments. But so far the majority of the comments that I receive have just been fantastic. Following you.

I've never seen a downvote function, only the 'Flag' function. I know you can remove a vote though, but that sends no message. Thanks for the follow!

This is super useful! Just resteemed it :)

Thank you for re-steeming my post. I hope that more users will follow these simple tips so that blogging at Steemit will be a better experience for all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66713.67
ETH 3063.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71