You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ashes to Ashes, Votes to Dust: Making votes count

in #steemit6 years ago

I read of these crumbs the other day and will admit to feeling a little crushed. I finally reached a point where it says it will award .01. While not much, it is better than .00 (or so I thought). It won't change how I interact on the site, but I feel bad that I can't really reward those who I interact with, other than with my wit and charming disposition. 😁

Sort:  

other than with my wit and charming disposition. 😁

This goes a long way.

And even if your vote is only 01, it is nothing to worry about. You read or see something you like you vote, and leave a comment. That person may look your site over. The biggest thing to look at here is that it is 100% waste of time for you to vote your own comments up. I look at the votes a comment and a post have first, if you upvote your post that is generally fine, if you upvote your own comment, sorry I am one of those that will not upvote a comment the commenter self voted. When you upvote your own post, if no one else votes for it, your self vote just got "dusted". So find good comments or good post to vote on.

One thing to think about also when looking at a post to vote on, if it has 20+ votes, the fact you voted may be buried, yes you may get a curation pay out (0.001SP), but a smaller less voted post may be best for starting out. However it really depends on the question of why you are here, and there really is a lot of reasons, some to make money, some to play games, some to blog, some to gain fame, some to...well you get the idea. For myself, I like to vote and to comment, and to read, and I try to help where I can, especially the new users.

if you upvote your post that is generally fine, if you upvote your own comment, sorry I am one of those that will not upvote a comment the commenter self voted.

I agree with this, although I chose not to vote on my last post either. I am still feeling my way here as to my contributions posting as the first posts I made, many were things I could have made money on self publishing and they were met with crickets here. I am to vain to post memes or just idle cheerleader crap that you see so many posting.

I had to step back as well, as I found myself voting on so many posts and replies to my comments that my voting power was dipping down to 50% and under. I finally got it back to 100% over the last weekend, at the expense of ignoring some posts I normally may have weighed in upon.

I am looking forward to the day that my vote can reward another monetarily though. I know how it has made me feel, and how some who are not as blessed as myself feel. When I first got here, I came across a post from someone from Nigeria I think. He was talking how Steem had blessed him. He showed his old shoes he used to wear, and the new pair he was able to purchase with Steem. He also had pictures of him and his friends eating in a restaurant. Something he was unaccustomed to doing. His post really touched me, and put my life into perspective.

Thanks for sharing. It is through these type of interactions I am shaping my expectations of my Steemit experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65