Sort:  

One of the problems here on Steemit is that people want it now and there expectation are not realistic . So when things don't happen they get discouraged . Some just have over inflated egos .

I have seen in my short time here that so many just need a helping hand . A little encouragement to get them started . I have no idea where I would be if people in my past didn't provide me with the same .
We used to have a saying , " the best unit is the one you just left and the worst unit is the one you're at " The point is that when you get to the next unit the place you just left goes from the worst to the best .

I am here for the long term and will try and bear the blunt so others can have an easier time and move up . If I can just touch 5 people who touch 5 people the numbers in time will swell . A ripple that will turn into waves . Others here are doing the same pulling our resources together as a team .
For those who want to go or give up , I say , good luck and best wishes to you , bye .

One of the problems here on Steemit is that people want it now and there expectation are not realistic .

This was me when I first got here. I had a lot of expectations built based on YouTube videos that were purposely making it seem as though one could easily make thousands quickly with quality posts. I have earned much of my income the last few years from self publishing, and after checking the site out and seeing those high paying posts on trending and hot, I thought I was going to be rolling in dough.

Of course, why wouldn't I have thought this true. Many of the videos were made by one of the higher witnesses and the money being made was there for me to see clearly. And he seemed so innocent, despite his unnatural energy levels. Maybe it was the hat, lol. Then, you get here and not really sure what to do. You wade through the trending, pass, pass, pass, pass, geeze when am I going to find something interesting?

You make your first posts, learning intimately what the crickets sound like. But if you are hardheaded you slowly find good posts as you explore more. Finding even more good posts as you read comments on those posts that capture your heart.

Then one day you realize you don't have enough votes to reward everyone as you are witnessing so many kind acts taking place.

I am here for the long term and will try and bear the blunt so others can have an easier time and move up . If I can just touch 5 people who touch 5 people the numbers in time will swell . A ripple that will turn into waves . Others here are doing the same pulling our resources together as a team .

And this is why this is unlike anything i have ever seen. Thank you for paving the way for those of us coming behind you.

I was lucky my 1st day here @saywha pulled me into a chat where I meet @tarazkp and @erodedthoughts . they gave me some advice . One was stay out of trending . and a couple little things . I listen and learned , I used some of the principles and applied them to mine . Kept on listing . To this day still listening . later I met @thedarkhorse through @tarazkp . and now here we are . That one small act by @saywha put me on a path .

One small ripple . Acted upon by others adding another ripple . None of this happened over night and work is involved . My goal is to do the same . The odds are in my favor if I and we keep going . I am just an extension of others actions . I fully understand this and accept it . I have a military background and developing young men into a successful team is like no other feeling of success . I get the same feeling here.

LOL crickets on your first post , hell I got a bill lol

Voting is an issue one I struggle on a daily basis with . but then one will never have enough votes so you just do the best you can . My big issue is commenting I have been working on it

LOL crickets on your first post , hell I got a bill lol

lol, thats funny.

Voting is an issue one I struggle on a daily basis with . but then one will never have enough votes so you just do the best you can .

Yeah, its hard. I broke down and rented enough delegation to get the slider and just went under 80% even with it and still have several more comments to reply to. It's a good problem to have. I will look into those you named. I was already aware of tarazkp, having been lucky enough to encounter his posts fairly early in my time here. He helped me shape my understanding of the site with his posts, although he has no idea how much. I also found others that were commenting on his posts, like Asher that led me to yet more people.

My big issue is commenting I have been working on it

My issue is posting, after the crickets. The only way I was able to connect was through commenting, so I built up the habit of curating more than posting. It got lonely posting with the only comments having nothing to do with the post and trying to get me to follow for follow or pay for resteems, hahahaha.

That's very good advice.... from @tarazkp - stay out of trending! Just focus on 'reality'!

that advice keep my feet on the ground . plus a couple more that were not so direct :)

I'm optimistic. It seems to me like things are getting better especially with the new bounty system and dust sweeper.

Looks like you figured out a way not to need the dust sweeper.

Wish I had more time to comment, but need to get to sleep. Just want to say that those with the loaded voices aren't always the ones that you should be listening to. They don't always speak the minds of the masses and most are VERY disconnected from what the masses feel.

True. What had concerned me has been seeing some who I value highly feeling discouraged. I wish they could know the importance their gestures have had on not only myself, but on others. Thanks for weighing in before bed, and thank you for being one of the foundations here for a strong community. I appreciate your vision and that you have the heart to be a leader.

OK now I have a post topic...swear they are everywhere. But to keep it simple the longer you are in a place the more issues you tend to be able to spot. I can tell you every creak, crack, and bit of differed maintenance in my home. But others walk in and love it because it's a old home which has so much character vs the new cookie cutter homes.

It's really no different here on steemit. I see the issues, but I also choose to focus on the good that is happening here. You look at the amazing response to help @briancourteau raise money for his meds and you know that there is something happening here that is big and powerful. The world needs to focus more on the positive things and way less on the negative. There are always going to be both in the world, what we see is all about where you shine the spotlight.

You look at the amazing response to help @briancourteau raise money for his meds and you know that there is something happening here that is big and powerful.

That humbled me. It really puts it all into perspective. People worrying about getting x amount in upvotes while people are worried about medications and pain and how much more they can take. It helped melt some of the cynicism that has built in my heart during my life seeing how the community rallies around those in need.

Well said! I too wish those who complain could be the change they wish to see instead of merely being the voice of discontent!

I also curate for @asapers, a small group here who focuses on paying it forward and showcasing quality unnoticed posts...like yours. We have a newsletter where we highlight said posts and I'd like to submit yours, but you need to be a member/follower first. I think you'd like the group of people we have there; thedarkhorse is one of them...I dragged him there myself haha

Here is the invite link if you are interested, and of course if you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

Thanks again for an awesome post!

That is so nice of you to offer. I have had many invites to Discord, but so far have shied away from it. It appears when I went there that I had to download some type of app, and I run from apps as fast as I can due to their penchant for spying and being hackable. Secondarily, it seems weird to need a second social platform to manage the first social platform, lol. And yes, I am aware my age is showing in this reply, hahahaha.

I have realized my not using the Discord or the Steemconnect etc has handicapped me somewhat in my growth here, and hope no one takes offense (I know you won't) that I am not using those things. It took me months of arguing with myself just to get into crypto and employ all these James Bond password procedures.

Ha ha! Exactly, meanwhile, sun shining outside. ..

haha I had to chuckle...

it seems weird to need a second social platform to manage the first social platform, lol. And yes, I am aware my age is showing in this reply, hahahaha.

Those were my exact thoughts after just a few days on the platform.
Why is everyone trying to get me to go to another platform to discuss what is supposed to become the de facto social media platform?!?!?

I've clicked a few discord links, but never spent much time there.
I visited steemit.chat once to help a friend who was waiting weeks to get on Steemit.
It was actually no help. He filled out the form someone there suggested, but still never got the invite email. So he just signed up again and 2 weeks later, voila, he got online...

No worries whatsoever! It took me a long time to get involved in Discord and truthfully, I don't chat there much at all. I find it's a great place to share links or go to if you have a problem with something etc. I guess I do chat there a bit, but it's always purposeful, if you know what I mean.

Steemit takes up plenty of time, Discord can swallow the rest if you allow it haha

These are some insightful reflections. I am a recent arrival, and my sense of things is that things are at a crucial stage where a lot of people are questioning how this thing is working out.

I agree for sure, it's not so much a matter of our speculation, and more of our willingness to make this what it could be.
Much Love

I am a recent arrival

Welcome to Steemit. I have been here since February and am still feeling my way around the place so don't get discouraged. There are so many treasures here, they just aren't usually the loudest or easiest to spot. I began finding the communities that attract me by posts I would come across and investigating not only the writer, but those commenting. Pouring through their previous posts and reading who was commenting there as well.

more of our willingness to make this what it could be.

Exactly :) Thanks for weighing in.

It might be hard to not get recognized or get more rewards, but indeed stick with it to get something. At least you can be grateful to not being flagged for months after you've built up support from the platform :P That caused me to leave for a while ;)

Sorry to hear that happened to you. Glad you came back. You are one of the unnamed that could have made it into this post. You do so much good here. You could easily just post the great content you do and be satisfied with that but you empower others to spread the love around here. I never thanked you proper for giving some voter love to the post I requested before you left for vacation. I was also pleased to see she made it onto your list of pay it forward delegations along with so many other worthy people.

It says a lot about you. Most others are busy squeezing every last drop of profit from their stake and you seem intent on squeezing kindness for others out of yours. Thank you for being a leader.

Thanks ;) You're welcome :)

" Most others are busy squeezing every last drop of profit from their stake"
Yes, I've come to the conclusion if it's about making money, itd be a lot more efficient to trade crypto! Luckily for me i have a day job...

That naked profiteering aspect very strange, i guess it's interesting, kinda like how watching wasps doing their thing can be interesting. .. I'm more a honeybee kinda guy, honestly. ..

@practicalthought You have received a random upvote from @transparencybot for not using bidbots on this post and using the #nobidbot tag!

Thank you for supporting those not using the bots. If enough begin using this tag it will become a popular search to replace Hot and Trending where we know the placement was not simply bought.

Thank you for the thank you.

I read this article and found it to be well articulated and well reasoned.

As soon as people show up, it will always be tainted by those people, the good with the bad. The grass will never be greener, and to think that rich people will not buy their way to influence there too is not based on reality.

I know everyone so wishes this statement was not true, but in-fact it is so central to our ecosystem, and not just Steemit. One has to wonder is there any reason to fight for equality ... but then, should we stop, the small resistance that provides some balance will surely be noticed in its absence once the depravity of selfishness is all that remains.

Keep up the good fight!

'We' have to carry on regardless...
Stick with it, keep posting your own truths. 'We' as individuals are unable to change anything.

Post by post, we may...

Steemit will either grow into the thing we want, or it won't.

But by not being in the game, it guarantees that you won't be on the winners podium...

'We' have to carry on regardless...

Exactly. If not us, then who? Then when? Time slips by with moments squandered when the moment can always be right here, right now. Each action can be that moment at the winners podium.

Wow, what a great and important post, Steemit has a lot of good things going for it, and truly we should be the change we want to see. Those small acts of kindness will ripple out in the community. Keep up the good work!

truly we should be the change we want to see. Those small acts of kindness will ripple out in the community.

Exactly. If not us, then who? I am glad you see this too. Thank you for helping to create ripples here.

Thanks for the heads up, is like 5am and the birds are singing need some sleep like thedarkhorse hehe.

You made some good points like talking about a perfect platform, problem and solution is the same we the people itself.

Keep it up, good post. Good to have you on my follow list :)

problem and solution is the same we the people itself.

Exactly. I am glad you see it too. Sleep well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17