WHEN WE MET: Episode 1

in #steemit6 years ago

43DFC081-76AF-4095-8557-5290674D2235.jpeg

The cold winter in December came so severe and luckily for me, I had a two week break from work. I drove fast from my rented apartment heading towards home. Mum was buzzing me for days with texts and calls, asking when I was going to return home for Christmas vacation.

BFF102DC-7001-45A3-BA4A-D080F0EB3552.jpeg

   My name is Allena, the craziest workaholic you can ever find around. The least time I ever get for myself is the thirty minutes time with my girl squad.  At the end of every week, we spend an hour of quality time chitchatting and catching up on the latest gist and trends. All I could give the girls was thirty minutes of my busy schedule. They were all in relationships and Bridget and i were the only single ones in the group getting bombarded with questions on when we were going to introduce the right one to them. Personally, I didn’t have time for relationships. I considered it a waste of precious time and I wasn’t ready to squeeze my time for any guy for that matter. I always told the girls that my work was my relationship and I was never going to cheat on it.

   I knew Mum was going to ask that question too as soon as I got home. Beryl and Tim, my younger siblings were already married with two kids each. I was going to be twenty eight soon and hadn’t been on a single date with any guy. I was lost in my thoughts and didn’t realise that I was actually some few minutes away from home.  Well, I missed everyone and it was going to be a full house this Christmas. I could smell Christmas already in the air and I’d stuffed my suitcase with gifts for everyone. I got home later and everyone came over to embrace me.  

    ” I thought my in-law was going to arrive with you,  What a pity! ” Mum had already started with her marriage expectations as soon as I got home. I intentionally dodged her question and picked my little niece Flora up. My brother Tim and his wife were around.  Those two were couple goals really. I wasn’t so enthused by couples but those two usually made me rethink about what I was missing.  I distributed the gifts to everyone and made way to my bedroom. I’d really missed my room. It had my childhood memories all embedded in it. I put my suitcase on the floor and hopped onto my cozy bed with heels on. I hugged my pillow tightly and shut my eyes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70