Thing about Curation Rewards. How should you vote? My breakdown of Curation Rewards Algorithm.

in #steemit7 years ago

How to maximize your curation rewards?

Intent of this post is to solve mystery about curation rewards!

Hi Steemers @proba1 here.
I was unable to find finite answers on curation rewards, so I will try to explain what I understand for now.

An example

If I understand corectly ...

75% is going to author and 25% to curators!

Let's say you make a post and some magical curators vote it to 100$ all at once.

Time of voteAuthor rewardCuration reward
first 59s (0min)100$0$
after 30min75$25$
at 15min87.5$12.5$

This is called Early Voter Penalty!

It's simple linear function. At 0min author gets curation reward of 25$(out of 100$) so curators get 0$. If curators vote all at once after 30 min all 25$ (out of 100$) goes to curators. This chart expains it...

Voting position matters

As you can see first 5 votes get the most, but it's still not clear because data shows you should upvote after 15min.

This original post from @calamus056 explains it!

Acutal data shows something different

Check this original post from @steem.engine.

And then there is problem with voting position because window between 15 and 30 min gets most of rewards. Especially right after 15min.
And let see what happens after 30 min on pic bellow.

Here's pic.

It apears that best time to upvote is in window between 15 and 30min

My theory is that voting position is counted after 15min. But there is problem with that... If that was the case then window betwen 15 and 30min wouldn't be so flat. Or maybe it's a statistical error.

This post shows what happens after 30min in my opinion without early voter penalty. Does this mean voting position is counted after 30 min?

Soooo...

What to do with this information?

(Especialy if you are new to steemit!)

First step. Power up!

Wait until your voting power is near maximum.
Why?
at 100% upvote is worth 2%
at 90% upvote is worth 1.8%
etc.

This will give you a greater chance of bigger reward.
You can check your voting power here.

This pic explains it.

Find 10+ posts daily. Vote for high quality posts!

Keep your vote power near 100%.

Don't vote for trendig posts!

Conclusion

SOOOOOOO... For now my best bet is....

1. Look in new posts

2. Find high quality posts (high risk(hard to find), high return)

3. Check authors blog and aproximate reward based on previeus rewards and number of followers

4. Search posts older than 14min. Under 4 votes. Under 0.10$.

5. Curating whales can be profitable too! (medium risk(easier to find), high return)

6. Upvote after 15min and before 30min in rare cases after 30 min

7. Resteem after 30 min or after vote.

8. Post them into #postpromotion on Steemit.chat.

9. you could submit the post to @Curie and similar initiatives

This post explains similar strategy!

TL;DR

Summary - Data shows us...

  • Wait until your voting power is near maximum.

  • Find 10+ posts daily. Vote for high quality posts!

  • Search posts older than 14min. Under 4 votes. Under 0.10$.

  • Check authors blog and aproximate reward based on previeus rewards and number of followers

  • Curating whales can be profitable too! (medium risk(easier to find), high return).

  • Resteem after 30 min or after upvote.

  • Post them into #postpromotion on Steemit.chat. [didnt finish]

  • You could submit the post to Curie and similar initiatives

Note:

If I get more detailed explanation I will post followup post about it, and post link in comment below.

Sort:  

OK, I waited 20 minutes. Let's test your theory although at this point in time I noticed no votes. LOL Like your thoughts though.

Thanks for vote! This is already my highest individual reward on steemit because of you! Hopefully whales will upvote it. I'll try to promote it as much as I can so you can get some reward :D

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

Something to test out thanks @proba1 even though I am late LOL, always in African time.

My friend, a kind reminder here.
#cn tag is stand for chinese.
However, no chinese was detected in this article.
Please use wisely for your tag,thank you

Nice post, will try this theory as well

welcome my friend on steemit today i made 500 steem friend as follower in just one month. you want to know how come to my blog @farhannaqvi7 and see and upvote my last post and ask if you want to know how to earn more if you comment i definitely upvote you

So, just for the sake of contributing data for analysis: I have about 96 SP; five hours since you posted, my upvote is worth $0.02; no effect from resteeming.

Some interesting points you've made there, and good analysis too, if it holds up.

Not bad :)

Good one! I saw that you joined recently so I'd like to offer you my welcome. This post deserves an upvote and keep up the good work!
I am struggeling, like you, to get those big upvotes on my posts so you should try out @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up through steemit! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.

Just started following you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69236.16
ETH 3848.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66