ARE YOU HAVING TROUBLE GETTING UPVOTES AND COMMENTS ON YOUR POST? HERE’S A POSSIBLE SOLUTION.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Blogging can be very exciting if you're doing the right thing, and the right things are not always easy!
Clearly it takes time for blogging to start paying off, and although steemit tries to make this easier, it still requires a lot of patience to stay sane here.

A typical instance of a frustrated steemit user is shown in the picture below.

There's a lot of us out there who are newbies on this platform, with low Reps and tiny SBDs. I am a newbie too, and I have written a lot of posts for my 172 followers only to get very few upvotes and comments on each post. I keep writing, because this is what I love to do. I have a few friends who dumped their accounts because they couldn't achieve much withtin two months or so, and so many other people are on the verge of doing the same! Now, clearly I understand how this platform works and I know why newbies are somewhat neglected and the older ones keep getting the whole focus, more like a the-rich-get-richer-and-the-poor- get-poorer concept. Here's why we face the hardships:

  • Because we are all driven by the desire to earn on curation, we only look for whales( users with high steem power) so that our curation rewards would be a bit high. A curator can earn up to 10$ on a whale's post. This totally makes users ignore newbies; curating newbies won't pay much would it?

  • Newbies feel lazy about working their way up. It takes time but you can actually get someone's attention, then another person, and another person! But we usually stop participating devotedly after one stroke of poor luck.

  • Poor use of Tags and Images.

BUT GUESS WHAT!

During one of those night when I make amazing posts with low upvotes, someone commented. This what he said:

I contacted him today and he opened my eyes, so I decided to share my ideas. Hopefully it will turn out positively. Thanks to @mrglowz

  • First: Make sure your post is interesting, using catchy titles to attract your readers. Also learn to format your texts by using bold, italics, etc in relevant areas or using embedded links like this Link that leads you to one of my posts . These features make your post look professional and make reading a bit interesting. If you would like to learn how I did these feel free to ask in the comments.

  • Secondly: Make use of pictures. There are many pictures on the internet for free! Use them! Pictures create more visibility. Use the most popular search engine(google), and find the image that is relevant to your post, and apply it appropriately, it keeps your readers reading.

  • Thirdly: Tags! Tags are basic SEO tools that can greatly affect how easily people find your posts on the news feed. Do NOT always invent your own keywords! Always look at the tag section then choose and type in the 5 different tags that are most relevant to your post, especially the ones with better revenue. But make sure they're related to your post! This will help your post gain exposure since people will see them more easily.

I hope this helps, I just learned this and rushed on to share it here, let’s all grow together.

Sort:  

I do have the same dilemma, at the moment. Most of my post doesnt earn pass the 0.010$ , although for several times a whale upvoted me, with his curation trail (@surpassinggoogle) I got a little boost earning 1$ by average.

But you are right in saying that, passion for blogging and writing, sharing ideas will be our core strength to continue posting even with zero payouts (since 0.002$ is kinda deleted upon payout time). I will still write my post.

Investing in SP, delagating sp to bots and selling upvotes can be automated to earn few cents without making any post.

Every steemit users should be clear in mind their target, it would be better that they aim for the long term.

Exactly, @guruvaj. The long term should be the aim, patience pays.

But again, not everybody can wait that long, for us, lets just HODL.

@pundit Thanks bro, i leant alot from your post, just followed you to get more info on your blog. Nice visiting you👍😄

Thanks for reading bro! You're most welcome, anytime!

I am a Newbie! And i am going through the same situation! anyway! My moral is still high! :)

I truly Agree with your strategy! I have joined this platform last week and I am able To Gain 174 followers and raise my reputation to 29, just by already following the points you ststed above

Wow! Great! This means that you can do much more within two months! Keep doing it bro.

Yes! At least I am hoping for the best 😊

Yes, use lots of pictures, but DO NOT use google images. If you search google images it will show you everything, including (and predominantly) copyrighted pictures. This will get you in a lot of trouble. Not just legally but it can get you in trouble with groups on steemit like @steemcleaners that go through steemit looking for plagiarism and stolen content. You will get blacklisted from many services here and could get your account flagged until you have 0 rep. Don't do this.

A good place to go is pixabay. Lots of steemit authors use pixabay as it allows you to search for royalty free images. Images you can legally use for free. Or if you can, make your own images!

Here's some more advice:

  1. Commenting - take the time to look for other people's posts and leave meaningful comments. Do this a lot, It is very difficult to get noticed on steemit because its hard to find posts sometimes. Commenting helps you meet people and make friends. It also makes it more likely that they will come follow you and comment/vote on your posts.

  2. Marketing - writing a good post and having an interesting title isn't enough. Visit the post promotion channels in steemit chat and check out the PAL server on discord (its a minnow community and a great place to be seen when starting out).

  3. Be Consistent - Post on a regular schedule. If your readers know you have a regular schedule then they will know when to come looking for a new post from you, this can really help keep your followers engaged.

  4. Don't post too much - generally the recommendation is not to post more than 4 times a day. Even that I think is a bit much as your regular readers will quickly get bored or wont read everything you post as its simply too much for them to keep up with. They follow other people to! I post only once per day, but I know some people post more. But a good maximum number is 4. That way you don't tire yourself out either! Its a lot of work!

I hope this is helpful to you, i know this advice helped me a lot when I first joined steemit. Good luck out there!

Beautiful! Thanks a lot for this, I'm really honored to have you take your time to write all these just for us to learn. I appreciate this.

My pleasure @pundit! Many people have in the past given me helpful advice on steemit, and I am happy to help others in turn. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67079.10
ETH 3488.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22