My thoughts on Steemit (after one week of usage)

in #steemit6 years ago

steemit.png

It's almost a week now since I registered on Steemit so I decided to tell what I think about it; what I love, what I don't love and what should be improved. I would like to say thanks to @donkeypong and @analisa for upvoting my post 5 things beginner programmers should avoid. Thanks to them I realized how much influence on the platform is important and what Steem Power really presents.

I'm going to list good things first:

  • Community - I personally think this is the biggest plus of Steemit. Even though profit is in the game, people understand that getting respect takes time and from what I saw, most writers put lot of time in their posts. Atmosphere is much more relaxed compared to popular social networks. However, we're yet to see if this state will persist when platform becomes bigger.
  • Services and tools - This can be tied to the previous point too; I never saw people who were more eager to improve the platform and develop tools for it than open source developers on Steemit. This is something I noticed very early as a software developer and I hope I'll get the chance to contribute to the platform in that way in the future (in fact I had an interesting idea, but I'm pretty busy lately).
  • Honesty - Even though platform is still in beta phase, it's already clear that whole thing is genuine. I was surprised when I read that even upvoting bots are not prohibited (I forgot the name of post, but I'll link it here if I find it). In these days when blockchain technology is overhyped and new products and coins rise without any meaningful reason, it's very encouraging.

Now, some things I don't like:

  • Behavior of some "bigger fishes" - This is the problem of almost every online community (I noticed this on Quora for the first time); some people become so popular they don't have to invest much time in content they write. This results in lower quality content which still gets much more attention than high quality content of newcomers. To be honest, I'm not sure how this problem could be solved. Maybe there should be a filter which will move the spotlight to newer writers from time to time to improve their exposure to the readers.
  • Steep learning curve - I'm not going to live, Steemit is amazing piece of technology. The way it uses blockchain technology is awesome like I already said in my introductory video. It's quite refreshing to see something valuable built on blockchain in the mountain of hype around it. However, understanding what Steem, Steem Dollar and Steem Power are and what's their function in the Steemit's economy is still pretty hard. This video was the most helpful for me to understand the whole thing and I highly recommend it to beginners;

I can't think of anything else I don't like about the platform now. These are the things I noticed for the first week of platform usage and extensive reading about it. The only thing I can say for sure is that platform has a bright future in front of it and I'm proud I can be the part of it.


I hope you enjoyed this article. If you did, upvote and follow me for more content like this, and comment if you have questions or something to add. Cheers! 🍻

Sort:  

Totally agree, especially with the part of the "big fish" and the bad content. Good writing should be rewarded more, bad writing should be rewarded less.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76