the "tags" do not work because of a bug or are they made to be intentionally worthless? 📢

in #steemit7 years ago

The question may seem to be somewhat rough but what I'm looking for is an answer to organize my searches on steemit.

I have eleven months on steemit and basically I'm a content consumer. My main interest is to read quality articles that I can enjoy in my spare time. In Steemit that has not been easy at all, the user interface is not intended for people like me who want to find articles related to some specific topics or particular subjects. I understand that the whole platform is in beta, and that many of these details should be on the long list of improvements that are on hold, and that the priority now is to generate the greatest possible profit for the authors who generate the content.

However, an essential element that must be corrected are the "tags", if it was not intentionally designed to work that way, since they are not currently used to organize the content that is being generated in Steemit, and the problem is that the "tags" only work to organize the information of the articles that have been published in the last seven days, that is to say those that are in the period of generating profits, after that period ends, the articles are not shown in "tags". In a nutshell the "tags" only show articles from the last seven days, and there is no way to locate the rest of the articles that have been published there.

As a consumer of content, I have asked some authors that I consider excellent to use specific tags for their publications, so that I can locate their articles in the future and be able to read them with ease when I have free time. I began to make these requests because I realized that I spent up to an hour trying to find an article on the home page, which was extremely ridiculous because sometimes I did not even remember the title of the article.

Many of the authors started using these tags, which I greatly appreciate. I was surprised when looking for the tags that the authors created, only the articles that have been published the last seven days appear and the rest disappear as the days go by. So I ask the question, is it a software bug or is it designed to work that way?

If it is a software bug, please take this as a bug report and put it on your work list that I know must be immense.

On the other hand, if it is designed that way, I would like to know it to find another way of being able to organize myself in the search of content, which already represents for me an adventure in itself.

I know there are small software bugs that need to be fixed; I am very curious and I have done several experiments with the platform, and a very silly detail but that can be annoying for many users, is that when the power down is done, the last fee to be charged blocks the user's account. That is, the user can not vote, can not publish, can not make the "power up", can not transfer that last fee, nothing at all, is totally blocked because it does not have enough vest to do operations. The only option you have is to get bitcoin to buy steem through the steem menu, so that you have enough vest to do operations and finish your power down. This can be solved avoiding that the account is zero with the last payment, that is to say, it has to remain a minimum of vesti in the account so that it can continue working.

Well that's all for now, I would like someone to answer my question:

The "tags" do not work because of a bug or are they made to be intentionally worthless?

Thank you very much in advance...

Sort:  

Yes, IMHO tags are not working properly.

I believe people aren't savy to how to tag their own content. I myself still sometimes question what my tags should be :\

Yes, it is a bit tricky to place the tags in steemit. I am asking some authors to place labels such as quigua-narratives in order to locate their articles. And this works very well, except for the fact that the previous articles begin to disappear. That's my question, if it's intended to work that way or is it a mistake?

Maybe try to contact a steemit dev

That's the idea of this post. I hope someone responds, but these articles usually go unnoticed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70958.91
ETH 3798.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46