The Engine What Runs the World: Chapter 2, Page 3 (Unedited)

in #steemit6 years ago

Marla smiled softly at Smoke, “Do you know why I brought you in here mister Callahan?”

Smoke shrugged, “I have my guesses, but I’m not thinking their particularly correct.”

“There are three reasons. I’ve already seen two of them,”

Smoke raised an eyebrow as he took another sip of the best whiskey he’d ever had.

“I wanted to see you make a faux pas so you’d relax. I knew you’d be on your guard the whole time here. I need you to relax and be on your best game. If you’re too guarded you’re bound to miss something.”

“Fair enough,” Smoke replied. She wasn’t entirely correct in her assumptions though, the alcohol could dull his senses and relaxation could result in his mind getting lazy. Being on edge could have the same result, she was right about that, but the overall mood he was in wouldn’t have affected his job, “What’s the next reason?”

“I wanted to show you what you could have when you find my sister. The money we’ll pay you could give you the finest of whiskeys, rums and spirits.”

“And the third reason?” Smoke asked intrigued.

“To tell you I’ve looked you up. I know you’re the kind of person who befriends hitmen and whores. You’re the man who knows slavers and members of the cartel. To be fair, I did this before I hired you.”

“If it makes you feel any better it’s all on the level,” he said feeling his guard come back to him, “As a private investigator there are many times I need to go into some deep and dark locations and do some not so nice things. It pays to have friends and acquaintances that can help.”

“That help is never free though,” Marla said as she leaned against a green inverted table.

“True, but the odd favour or small skin stipend I’d pay doesn’t sour anything. It’s never anything illegal.”

Whoever she had hired to investigate him must have done a poor job. There were parts of his life she didn’t seem to know, including his abilities. If she wasn’t aware of them, he wasn’t going to give them up either. It was best if she believed he only knew people from the lower levels; even more so if she didn’t know about what he could do.
Marla began to laugh, “You don’t have to justify yourself Mister Callahan,”

“Please, call me Smoke,” he said wanting to get to his work. The delay had begun to annoy him.

“Your connections are exactly why I came to you. You’ve got people who know things, people who see things. You’re not afraid to do what needs to be done no matter the cost. I need to know the man I hire is going to do whatever it takes to find my sister.”

23379876_556055984726538_4976800124286191251_n.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60