The Engine What Runs the World: Chapter 3, Page 1

in #steemit6 years ago

Smoke stepped out from out of the tower to the bright sunlight of the outside world. The surface of the globe had always fascinated him. He had gotten used to having a dirt ceiling supported by a series of metal beams and a thick metal mesh over his head; he couldn’t quite grasp the height of the sky. He looked up into the clear blueness of it and sighed in amazement and awe. He felt a sense of pity toward the others in the underground, the cost of living on the surface was something they could not afford. Even he would have difficulty living on the surface with the little amount he made.

He took in a deep breath of the clear air that had not been first pushed through a series of filters to keep it fresh and safe for human lungs. It had a sweet smell with the scent of growing grass and plant life. He looked to the west and saw a small farm he assumed to be family run. It was large enough to feed a small family with enough effort and a good work ethic. He could see cattle in the distance grazing on the grass as well as sheep in a pen surrounded by wooden planks and chicken wire. He didn’t know where a farmer would get chicken wire these days, but he chose not to dwell on it. It wasn’t important.

He walked to the east back towards the lift. A tall shack stood beside the lift platform to protect the delicate equipment from the harsh weather conditions. He saw the old man who had brought him from the first below exit the shack holding a wrench. He was short and stalky with large shoulder and arm muscles. His face was covered by a long silver beard that Smoke admired.

He shook his head slightly as he moved towards the elderly man. “Hello again sir,” the old man said with a smile, “Didn’t think I’d be seeing you again today. Most who come to the surface tend to make a day of it.”
“I still intend to, not that I’ll have a choice,” Smoke said with a friendly smile, “I’m just checking to see when you plan to make the trip downward.”

“I’ve already been down today, I made my down trip before I brought you to the surface,” The old man said as his smile faded, “I only do one trip up and one trip down, as you probably know, being from the underground.”

“Yes, I know,” Smoke said placing his hands in his jacket pockets, “I was just checking to see what time are you making the down trip.”

“I’ll be going first thing in the morning, just after sunrise. I won’t be doing the up trip until the afternoon.”
“Alright,” Smoke said in acceptance, “I will see you then. I’ve got a lot to do up here still before I go down so that’ll be alright.”

23434843_556056148059855_686255534033485040_n.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71