The Engine What Runs the World: Chapter 3, Page 4 (Unedited)

in #steemit6 years ago

“How much are they paying you?” The woman asked with a sly smile.

“I’m afraid that is not up for discussion,” Smoke said matching her smile, “Could I get your name for the records?”

“Season Weaver,” she said with a smile, “My husband’s name is Paul and my kids are Harrison and Kitten.”

Smoke wrote all the names down. He didn’t need all the names, but if she was willing to tell him, he’d write them down. “Did the girl happen to give you her name?”

Season nodded, “She said her name was Blue. Nice girl, didn’t say much but was very polite.”
“Did she say where she was going?”

Season shook her head, “Not directly. We knew she was staying only the night so she was more than likely going to the underground, but that’s about all I know.”

Smoke took a drink of the water. It had a sweet taste to it with a slight tinge of metallic. The water had copper traces in it from what he could taste, but had been more or less covered by a mixture of sugar and soaked fruit. It tasted good regardless of the copper; it was better than the water below, “That’s alright,” Smoke said, “I have a direction now. I will get out of your hair.”

Season smiled, “It’s no bother at all. I’ll assume you’re going to want to go back to the underground tomorrow?”
“That I am. First thing in the morning.”

“You’re welcome to stay here. We have a spare room we allow people to stay in if they are going down. Provided they actually look like good people.”

Smoke finished his glass of water and stood, “No thank you,” he said calmly, “I am going into town to see what I can learn from there. There’s a good chance Blue had gone to get supplies after staying here.”

Season nodded once slightly, “Alright,” she said standing, “I hope you find her. She’s a good girl and I don’t think she’s fully prepared for the underground.”

“She struck me as a smart girl; I don’t think she’d go too deep. So long as she’s on the first three floors she should be okay if she keeps her head down.”

Season didn’t reply as she followed Smoke to the front door. He reached for the handle as the door opened. He stood face to face with a large muscular man who stood at least a foot taller than Smoke. “I didn’t know we were expecting company,” The man Smoke assumed to be Paul said.

“I was just leaving,” Smoke said as he moved to allow Paul through the door.

23434843_556056148059855_686255534033485040_n.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71