You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FUTURE OF STEEMIT (Specially for Photographers)

in #steemit6 years ago

I wonder if Steemit will ever start rewarding only photos as content. Some of the photographers that I saw quit didn't want to spend time on the 4c's and just drop their photos. And that didn't work that well for them.
But with Steemit so focused on "text or video content" and almost counting the words, the early birds among photographer need to change their style. I am curious to see who is willing to adapt.

Sort:  

I will reward people who post only pictures but just like in instagram I expect to know at least something about it. I think instagram picture only posts suffer just the same. But I don't expect people to write long blog posts like me. And I will reward so yes the answer is they not only will start but they have... because my vote counts.

I think it's an ok space for steemit to be in challenging the simpler posts like FB/instagram. (not 100% certain but seems ok)

I know some people want it to challenge Medium or traditional blogs. But I think communities will take it the other direction towards smaller content even more.

But that being said longer more thought out content will just get rewarded more.

With the Steepshot app, they tried getting the Steemit Instagram effect. I wonder how well that will do in the future.
(Oh, that explains why my Instagram account never became big :))

I think that there already is quite a lot of appreciation for good photography. Look at #photofeed and all the other photo curation projects, few of the photos there are proper blog posts. But the way that Steemit is currently made, it is primarily a blogging platform, so photos should never be posted alone, but accompanied by at least one small paragraph telling the story of the photo.

dedicated photography curation accounts pay attention to -just- photos. But the "regular" Steemians don't upvote them that often, by the looks of it. And you can't really rely solely on the curation upvotes ;)

I sometimes go through the "new" section of #photofeed and upvote the photos I like and I think that many others are doing the same :)

But nobody should expect to earn more for a photo than for a really good blog post that incorporates a lot of great photography. The problem is, that many lesser-known authors have their posts sitting at a few cents, no matter if they post a single photo or a longer blog posts.

I might be bitter... but what I see is that only the curation accounts (and competition accounts) benefit from the upvotes for the photos. This is of course a generalisation and exceptions are always there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81