When people will start quitting Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

adult-alley-backpack-679350.jpg

Right now a lot of people are joining this website, either because they want to share their work with others and make some money out of it, or simply because they want to make money publishing whatever they have in mind.

The hype is growing every single day, especially because the price of Steem is doing the same thing. If you've been here last year, you know how many people were talking about Steemit getting to $2 in just a few months or so. Now it's at $3, and a few weeks ago it was at $4. The website is developing nicely, the community is growing and with it, the price of Steem.

While I'm happy that this is happening, especially since I gathered some Steem myself, and I still am, I can't ignore the fact that there will come a point where a lot of people will stop using this website, out of one single reason - shit content.

Now, I usually don't swear, not in my articles, but it's bothering me and a lot of other people. I spent around 10 minutes on the "new" section of Steemit, trying to find a nice article to read or even get some inspiration for what I'm writing now (apparently it worked, but in the wrong way), and all I could find were a bunch of people publishing shitty things, whatever they could, hoping to get some money.

I checked the profile of some of them, hoping that this is one of those days when they just published a picture of themselves, or a random image they found online, like I do from time to time as well. That wasn't the case. That was the type of content they were uploading daily, images you can find almost everywhere, shitty memes they consider to be funny and poorly written articles.

The main problem is that I'm sure there are a lot of people out there, on this website, that create good content, yet you can't find them because they are hidden between all this crap, between people who have absolutely no idea of what good content is, who post everything they can hoping to get a few cents in return.

First, it's a stupid mentality - why waste time sharing random things that you think are "worthy of an upvote" and get maybe $0.03 in return, when you can actually work on something decent, build a following and make more? Second, that type of content won't get anywhere, not now, not in the future. It's just rubbish, and it's annoying.

I'm not quitting Steem, not soon anyway, but I do expect others to do it in the near future. I was lucky enough to be discovered by nice people and to be followed by a lot of them, but there are others who I'm sure can't see the reason why they should publish on this website since their content is buried by all the garbage that is published here every day.

I'm not coming with a solution, because to be honest, I don't think there is one, at least not something that would work really damn well - the website needs a huge community in order to become big, and that includes people who would do anything to make a few cents a day.

While I couldn't care less about what type of people join this website, it is sad that there will be great people who will leave simply because they can't get anything in return for their work since no one sees it anyway.

I'm curious to see what will happen in the future and if this will change when more people will realize they won't get rich by publishing shitty memes and pictures of themselves without having anything interesting or important to say.

Sort:  

I can not complain about my earnings, but I already sometimes I am thinking about quiting.. But I still have enough motivation to post once in a while I hope...

Yeah, can't help but think about others who are not as lucky as we are, who make maybe $0.01 a day no matter what they publish, and start to consider quitting because it doesn't seem like their efforts are being noticed.

The real problem is not that there is so much lousy content in the news section, but that the trending page is people gaming the system. A lot of discussion has been made about that and maybe something will happen. But I think that it would be great with some way people could promote quality posts so they were easier to find in all the desperate or cynical crap.

Good point.

I guess the "New" section will remain unchanged, since it features everything people post, including garbage content that will never get significant rewards.

The "Hot" section, from what I saw, has a few interesting articles from time to time, but I can't count the amount of times I saw articles like "PRICE OF STEEM GOING UP" or "BITCOIN SKYROCKETING TODAY!" containing nothing but an image with the price of Bitcoin or Steem. I keep wondering how that's supposed to be "hot".

And the trending page... I don't even look at it. There's no point in doing that.

Things kinda need to improve when it comes to the attention good creators get, because right now, it's hard to get noticed no matter what you do. New users will realize that sooner or later and will stop publishing anything on this website, and those who've been here for a while may quit simply because there's no point publishing something that will get stuck between memes and pictures with people who for some reason believe they deserve upvotes for showing their face.

I'm curious to see what will happen in the future, if anything will change, or if having a lot of Steem Power will be the only requirement to make a lot of money no matter what content people create.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01