Quick Tip for Posting While Steemit is Having Growing Pains

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys,

I'm seeing a ton of duplicate posts showing up in both comments and on my main feed. Obviously, we're all struggling with the problems Steemit is having right now so I offer a quick suggestion that should help.

After you've written up your long post or comment and you're ready to post, follow these steps.

  1. Select all and copy to do a quick backup
  2. Hit post
  3. While you're sitting there wondering if it's actually going to post or not, or if it says transaction broadcast error,head on over to steemd or, my favorite, Steemworld and just check your transaction stream. If you have a transaction showing that your post was authored or you commented then you're good to go. If you don't see a transaction wait about a minute or so refresh your transaction log again and see if the transaction is there or not. If it's still not there, cancel your current post attempt and try again repeating the same steps.
  4. Eventually you'll see that your post was logged as a transaction and you're good to go, even though the actual post will still be sitting there trying to load. Just cancel that and hit refresh and you'll see your post at that point.

The same steps work for votes as well. Basically at this point I've always got two tabs open in my browser and whenever I do something on Steemit I just swap over to the blockchain and check if the action was recorded or not.

Following these steps should help eliminate your double posts and comments.

Hang in there, we've got better days ahead!

pain-relief.jpg



Some of my other recent posts:


Want to See what an Incredible Steemit Mobile App Would Look Like?
Keep it Simple - An Explanation of Steem's Public & Private Keys (Moving From Facebookville to Steemville)
Life with Girlfriend - Quotes from the Trenches - Ep. 2 - Learning Crypto

forestfooter.gif


Images from: Freepik

Sort:  

Or you could just post a ? like I did, and let someone solve the esoteric riddle. And make friends instantly.

Haha, definitely an excellent option that I was unaware of until recently. Wish I could still edit this post to include it :)

lol I didn't double post sooner, I didn't triple posts, no. TypeError Network Connection Failure had me fooled. I ended up posting 10 times without even knowing it. I had to go and change the titles and text so that I,d only have one post with the content and so that people didn't think I was a spammer.

I went crazy, I couldn't believe I had posted 10 times while I thought it had not posted at all. Every time I hit Post, it DID post.

That was intense.

I saw your posts in my feed and I felt so bad for you! I'm surprised that we haven't seen a lot more of that given that the problem has been popping up constantly. I had that same thing happen when I went to post this one.

What a pain to have to go back through and modify each before people think you're spamming!

Intense indeed.

Yeah lol. Well, thankfully, I've been active enough that people know I don't USUALLY post the same post a dozen times in a row. I didn't get any down votes, so that's always a good sign.

The double comments have been heeella frustrating. Ironically, I had some trouble when trying to comment on this post. I think the most frustrating part has been losing content that I took the time to write up - wether it be a post or comment. Having to go back and try to recreate the content never works very well. Thanks for the good tips!

upvotes seem to work bit faster now....but yeah....commenting is still painful :(

tnx on the tips :)

Yeah, the voting is definitely a little better, here's hoping the commenting and posting will be soon too!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

This post has received a 4.48 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @raised2b.

This post has received a 7.53 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @raised2b. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations @raised2b! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66