You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Not Talk About Steemit

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Guys, I love Steemit. I also love The Rolling Stones, hits from the bong, and masturbating, but if all I ever talked about was those things I would be surrounded by stoned, hippie, perverts and limit my horizons.

Ha ha, what an opening 🤣

Been saying this for a fckn age @luzcypher... and living as I say by posting mainly creative works. I even recently started creating short films to add extra value to poetry readings that I put up on dtube. Guess what... Dtube ignored all but 1 of the 5 I've done and continued to vote videos about steem... Or steem community announcements.... Or just traditional style vlogs. I agree with you that the steem centric content on here is not going to interest new users. Also, I've had people deride these opinions before by saying, "you're just pissed that your content isn't making what you want"... Fckn A. Of course I am, I've been posting stuff that I should have been submitting to literary entities (mags and online journals) where it would get me more notice in mainstream literary circles.

Lol, but it's not just about me! A tonne of talented creative writers have left steem, most probably because they're not as stubborn (or maybe stupid) as me. I can see from this article that you've felt exactly the same effect as you've started writing about alternative growing/agriculture. I've also felt the 'write about steem' effect as a few articles I wrote about a month ago that were all about steem did better than my other works, while the one I wrote about the problems that steem has got fck all.

Laughable really that it seems this 'censorship resistant' platform is organically incentivising people to write generic 'follow the company line' articles about something that new comers have little interest in. We will disappear up our own asses if we continue like this!

Ha ha, rant over 😉

Sort:  

I commend you for supporting and posting about different topics. Steemit is an amazing platform and there are many talented developers building great projects. We need them and should encourage them. But we need tp reach more people with different interests to expand our base.

There's a lot of circle jerking going on here. I'm just saying we could jerk off to a lot more than just Steemit. Hahahahah! I'm committed to this platform and to support lots of topics and communities including Steem-related stuff. Just think we should start branching out more.

Music, art, gardening, photography, travel, food, are all topics that are doing well here and we need more.

What do you like to post about? Never mind Just checked your blog out. You have a new follower.

Steemit is an amazing platform and there are many talented developers building great projects. We need them and should encourage them. But we need tp reach more people with different interests to expand our base.

Absolutely agree m8. For me, I feel like the devs and projects 100% get the support they deserve and that is right and good! But the focus by the top dogs and circle-jerkers on only rewarding steem related content (or themselves) is a problem and causes damage to the platform in regards to driving new users away and simply narrowing the field of content which will attract a wider audience. The truth is, however much they might want to deny it until they're blue in the face, that they need to widen their horizons as it is them who hold the largest investment... but the price of steem is still most reliably boosted by massive influxes of new users. So if they took more time and effort to cultivate a wider support of content and for new users then this would increase the overall price I think. Obvs also an increasing price of BTC is a reliable steem price booster as well. Anyway, you've covered all this in your article extremely effectively, I hope that it has the effect of reaching some eyes that need to see this message.

Btw's I'm Rowan from steemfest 3 ;-) One of the frat house crew lol. To prove I'm who I say I am I'll just say: "Dude... quit with the snoring. I thought that you might have missed that as I don't think we ever talked much about our accounts, usually just tales of mischief etc.

Thanks for the follow m8

Oh yes, of course. What a blast that was. I recognize your username now. How have you been Rowan? I'm in Vietnam at the moment. Here' some pics.

https://steemit.com/travel/@luzcypher/living-on-the-beautiful-beaches-in-da-nang-vietnam

I'm OK man. Life is a struggle here in the UK but well I won't get started on the national pastime of moaning too much ;-)

Vietnam sounds like an awesome place to visit, from what I've read and watched it is more tranquil the Thailand, which I've always been curious about seeing for myself. Thailand is awesome, but it's defo 24 hour party people place ;-) I visited SE Asia years ago but didn't get as far Vietnam.

Gonna go check those pics and post out now before going out for a bike ride and hopefully film a little bit of footage around liverpool :)

Cool man. Stay in touch.

Will do m8 :)

I AGREE!! Thanks for the rant, I am glad I am not the only one fighting for artistic freedom... well an artistic platform.

Long live autistic freedom! Hahahaha!

For sure @tammyp. Ha ha, I could rant for England... if there was an olympic event in ranting I'd at least have a spot on the team 😂

Support for artistic/creative content is a long term problem on steem, which the curation guilds address to an extent but not completely. Keep fighting the good fight :) We need artists/writers and all types of creatives on steem as well as the more technically minded!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66839.86
ETH 3105.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75