Women in the Modern World

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I was getting ready to write my post about Absurdism, Rick and Morty, and Cryptocurrency and how they are connected when all of a certain when my autoplay feature on youtube took me to a very dark place, Fox News. There was a short clip about how women protesting women rights should realize how privileged they are and stop complaining and spreading false narratives. That honestly just made me mad, though I know Fox News is nothing but a joke.

I was just watching a program named Fareed Zakaria GPS on CNN just last week when a couple was featured on the station to talk about this same question.The wife was a Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of a well-known company and the husband was a Professor at Harvard University. The couple had two children, so there had to be at least one person available to care for them. Since the mother was a CEO of a big company, she had no time to raise the kids. The responsibility fell to the father who took the job with joy. He spoke of how his friends saw him as feminine because of this and his wife was looked at as a cold lady who sacrifices her kids for her job. This is the kind of thing that makes me sad.

In 2016, women working full time in the United States were paid just 80 percent the salary of their male counterparts, a gap of 20 percent.

This is not the worst thing women have to face in the 'modern' world. Congress recently passed the Universal Paid Leave Act in April to help support the family leave act. This law is what is protecting women from losing their jobs when they take a maternity leave. Employers are trying to get rid of this law in order to maximize profit without thinking about its ramifications. This would disrupt a lot of families and take away a woman's job security. Although they failed to repel it back in October of 2017, they are not giving up.

It is up to us to be vigilant and protect ourselves from harmful individuals like this by staying informed

I would love to see your comments down below. Also, I want you guys to suggest a topic for me. I would pick the one I like the most and write a post on it Saturday.
Don't worry my originally planned post would be posted on Monday in case you are interested.

Sort:  

Giving out free votes to the little guys, I hope you appreciate.

Oh, thank you, really appreciate it, I would love it if you check out my other posts. I believe you would like them

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @rajesh-fashek to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73