Sort:  

I do agree that SBD was not designed to HODL. SBD was designed to create stability in the economy. In addition it was designed as a mechanism to spend money earned on marketplaces etc. My question is however, why not peg SBD @ $10 as it will still provide stability. I am just not sure what the impact will be in the long run.

If you do that, you would be getting 10X less SBD per post reward, so it would be just the same as it was before...

exactly, theres zero difference. The algorithm needs to issue SBD instead of steem power in order to bring the price down in my opinion.

It is in the definition that SBD is supposed to be a stable currency, but creators, curators and commenters are making 10x as much for each action with the price as inflated as it is right now. Like you, I would be very interested in finding out if there is actually any downside to keeping the price pegged at current levels so that we can all continue to make more money and reinvest in the platform. I've done a lot of searching, but I have yet to hear of any downside from the inflated price of SBD.

i think it has to do with goshens law of good money pushing out the bad.. in this case, more fiat and even bitcoin being forgone for hodling sbd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85