I'm giving a little appreciation to Steemit today.

in #steemit6 years ago

morning-2243465_960_720.jpg

As I was sitting there a moment ago; sinking deep into my computer chair, listening to my 2001 era dance playlist on Spotify, and immensely enjoying being 'in the moment' with my life. You know those times right? When reality slips away and you're just left with the music inside you? Well, as the real world came back into view I began to think about all the things I have to be happy for. There's lots. This last year on Steemit have been amazing. Here's why:

In the beginning

I came back to Steemit in 2017 with cap in my hand, in a "please sir, can I have some more?" style entrance. I was ready to make some hard Steem and eager to take my writing skills to the test. I knew Steem had risen and I wanted to cash in on those gains! I needed to move house quickly, my landlord was moving in and kicking us out. Let's just say I was fomo'ing in to Steemit again! I started this place before there was a reputation system and the the price of coins were through the roof! A fun time to be there, alas, it was short lived and I ran away to fight another day.

I was back to brave the dragon again with my trusty pen.

Steem was really high when I came back; the rewards were super plentiful, and knowing that I had a good few high value accounts that enjoyed my content I seen myself earning a nice whack. So I put that whack into my magazine and hired a marketer. Now I have two of them! People usually ask me what I do with all my Steem rewards; shouldn't I be hiring someone else to create my content for me and go and live on the Mediterranean? Well, first of all I love what I do, so that helps, and secondly I'm playing a very long game. I know Steem will go down at some point, and I want to be earning on my Magazine so that I can buy more Steem when it's down. Does this make sense? So, right now I have two marketers, two editors, and several paid writers. Steemit funds a large portion of this, but not for long. There's one thing that's a constant and that is money earns more money. So we'll see.

My main aim is to make Steemit whale so I can help the less well off communities.

Fresh blood and new friends

This year I saw an influx of new and talented authors to my website (which I'm in awe that anyone would want to write for me. I love it) that have really run away with the show. I'm now looking at Instagram, Pinterest and Quora as a way forward for marketing and getting people in to write for us.

At the very end of last year I found a lovely little alcove of the Internet called @steemitbloggers ran by the ever lovely @jaynie. This has been a way to spread my skills and experience across the blockchain like butter. I'm now in a ton of channels and know hundreds of people. The best thing about networking online is that it's far easier than in real life. Connections take moments and there's not much buttering up of the ego needed when there are no faces. Mainly people are focused and want things from me, which is handy. In real life Networking is more like a dance than a straight forward swap. Hah. Safe to say I've met some wonderful people though; @jaynie as I've mentioned earlier, @amarbir, and Indian bloke who's always asking me the most insane questions about writing (I love it that he asks me really), @zord189 who is a master with the digital arts. I hear he's worked on some mainstream TV programs during his professional career. @TraciYork; I rarely get to speak to this lady but apparently she speaks in meme only! Hah and loads of other people too.

ONO - Get excited friends!

This year gets even more exciting. I finally met the infamous @stellabelle whilst interviewing for a Super Partner at ONO. You can see my Interview below.

@Ashleykalila was the lady that suggested I try for it and I'm happy that she did. ONO completely reflects my life goals and what I want to achieve out of my stay on this Earth. I want to help people change their worlds around completely. Ono can help me be part of this and I'm desperately excited!

You can read more about ONO here. Be prepared, it could be the next Steemit! But fair.

I'm trying to inspire my very own community of people that would like to build their writing through compassion and empathy. I'm also open to suggestion too. I totally understand one size does not fit all and art is subjective. Come have a chat!

Proof of weak hands!

I also stumbled across Proof of weak hands which sparked a series of podcasts and videos from me. I joined the community, and although the coin price has sort of stagnated there's still lots of fun to be had as we wait for their next endeavour, which we are promised it is on the horizon.

Proof of weak hands is basically a smart contract with a twist. The aim of the game is to keep your Ethereum in the contract as long as you can. When you buy into the contract you are charged a 10% fee, which is then distributed to everyone else on the chain depending on their holdings (and you). Every buy / sell / transfer incurs a 10% fee and is passed to everyone on the chain. Basically, you stake ethereum for holding your coins. It's fun!

I've had a lot to be thankful for

So I've had a lot to be thankful for over the last year. Steemit has changed my life and it keeps doing so. I've made so many positive connections through Steemit, and I'm thankful for just being a member. It's not only made me so many new friends, paid to upgrade my magazine, and found me new work opportunities. I'm here for the long haul I think :)

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Inspresional posting bro... Very nice

Thank you Sir :)

And I'm glad i met you too @raymondspeaks! I really do hope you do really well in whatever u decide to venture in. Especially the ONO platform. I know that you're a good guy and that is why u deserve all that you desire and need.

That's lovely of you to say that @zord189 - you too!

These are the best moments we experience in life. When you just relax and let the thoughts flow into your mind.
In was nice to know about your experience on Steemit and keep up the good work :)

Like you, I have found a whole new world on @steemit, and am particularly grateful to @steemitbloggers and @jaynie along with @zord189 among others, like @simplymike without whom I would not have been able to recover my account when I was hacked. And then there was you, @raymondspeaks who replenished my account with what had been stolen. I shall remain forever indebted!

Lovely thing to say! But remember, you owe me nothing! It was a gift :) Pass the niceness gravy train along when you find someone in a situation and you are able to help :D

True story. My mother taught me to say "thank you" and the debt of gratitude is rarely paid. I shall certainly pay it forward - it's the least I can do 😁

I am grateful to found SteemIt and #steemitbloggers as well, it's a truly amazing family that @jaynie had work hard on.

You are giving hope to others showing them what they can achieve here, I am going to resteem this post. Thank you for this post @raymondspeaks!

Thanking you! :) - the world is your oyster. Promise :)

Hahaha! Thank you for the encouragement!

you are doing a great job...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94