Make your Steemit posts fantastic

in #steemit7 years ago

New people, gather around!!
Today we're gonna talk of a subject dear to my heart: how to edit your post to GREATNESS!

Listen, I'm a big believer in writing good content. Ok, maybe it's not always amazing, maybe you can't do better now, whatever. There's one thing that you can TOTALLY do, like now. Like from the next post.

coollogo_com-253941426.jpg


The worst post can be elevated to mediocrity with good editing skills.
The best content can be buried under a big pile of shitty editing.
Mind you editing and you give yourself two chances to awesomeness. This is such an easy skill to pick up that there are *no excuses and no reasons not to to do a great job. Unless you're a lazy ass in which case I can do nothing for you. Have fun writing shitty posts.


Me waving shitty editors good bye!



My editing is very very basic and that's good. It means you can do it too. I use the basic markdown and it's so intuitive and nice. The main idea is this: On steemit, all posts look pretty much the same, so we are forced for now to work within this context and make our post stand out. I don't think this font is particularly readable so you need to be aware that people will jump over long paragaphs if you don't give them something to stand out. Like seriously, you're already bored with this one, aren't you? Aren't you?!
Oh hello!
See what I did there?

You can make things in italic by puttin " * * " at the beginning and ending of words, sentences even in the middle of sentences and boom.
You want BOLD?
You got it: just put "** **".

But a cool thing you can do, use it only for special stuff...the famous..one and only..italic bold!. I'll let you figure that out yourself :)

A header happens when you put " # " before a sentence, try putting two "#" and see what happens. Play around with this and look in the preview until you get it right.

This post is ok

@razvanelulmarin is my hero!

I WILL FOLLOW!


You can also use ">" for quotes. As in..

Razvanelul said to be a good editor so I am trying!!

For more just check the markdown guide

What else can you do to make the posts look pretty?
Add some photos. You can all kind of sizes that will fit your post. Big photos or may be like long and thing photos to make a point. It's really some sort of art and if you can edit those a bit in Photoshop...oh, baby! Magic is on the way :)
Don't forget that the first photo is gonna be the cover photo so chose wisely but don't be clickgrabby.


This is an uncentered random photo. Don' you just HATE how it looks askwew?! BRR I shudder just to post it. I might come back later and edit!

The cool thing about markdown is that you can use some html in it. The most popular for me is "<center " which, of course, centers your photos. I hate uncentered photo. It's lazy and really bad aesthetics. Stay centered everyone!

The last tip I have for you is to check a lot of posts on Steemit and see who has nice editing skill and try to emulate them. I'm not saying to downright STEAL their models but you can use their tricks to improve your own posts. That's art afterall...an endless reinforcing cycle. Respect their work but do your own as well.
I've learned a lot by being too much on Steemit.

Am I saying I'm the god-level editor or something?
No way, I know I'm not but I think a lot of people fall so short of these basic, minimum requirments that I had to write this post.
Hope it helps in your journey to ever better posts!

PS: The photo is "No. 5, 1948 (1948) Jackson Pollock"

Sort:  

Thanks for posting this! I did not know how to center my images with Markdown, so this is actually very helpful :)

don't forget to /center at the end or else it will all go crazy :))

Haha, that is a good point! It would probably mess up the entire post if I forget that :P

Thank you! I linked this tip in my recent post. :)

Was so easy on WordPress though. Good to have it on Steemit too.

I can't agree enough mate!! I edit the billy-o out of pics and text for my posts. It's really helps make things stand out!! Good job!!

No, man, you are the absolute master! People should study your posts and learn a thing..or two :)
Everything would look better on steemit if they did!!

Haha, or it might all look the same!! :0)

Nice post on editing skills. But I want to ask why should be use markdown editor, when we can do bold, italic, center etc. through the normal editor also?

For me, it's how we used to do things in early days and now find it easier..for sure, use the editor if you feel more comfortable with that. I just don;t like it anymore!

Hmm, I can understand.

Thanks for the help!

So much informative and fruitful post. Thank you very much for your effort !

great post2 white.jpg
Happy friday !
@akkha

Very nice post! I've been struggling with these issues!

Thanks for the tips. Followed you!

I have learned new things today. Thank you for taking the time to share this. Upvote and followed

Man, I had really hoped you'd go into the methods Gary Halbert and Dan Kennedy used to edit their letters. Or at least how editing works in journalism.

And all I got is basics that anyone with two brain cells knows and uses.

I call clickbait.

You know what's really cool?
That you could write those yourself.
Feel free to come back and share the link with me, I'll add it to my main post if it's good :)
Isn't Steemit just wonderful?

Here's two for a start (really aimed at beginners - I'm working up to getting my hands on Bond Halbert's book. Then I'll probably condense it into a long list of bullet-points, and post it.
On Editing
On Research

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50