Feature request: Embed playable DTube videos into Steemit posts like with YouTubesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


As I'm beginning to use DTube more I realized that I couldn't simply embed DTube videos into my posts. Apparently it can't be done even with custom iframes, so a back-end solution needs to be worked out.

DTube is an excellent, Steemit-friendly video service which has many comparative advantages to YouTube. It would benefit both DTube and Steemit to make videos playable from Steemit posts so as to increase the likelihood of them being viewed at all.

Currently, the Steemit reader has to click a link from the post to go to DTube for watching. Extra clicks as well as the actual link being located at the bottom of the post will make it less likely for Steemit-based users to view the videos themselves.

The simple solution I figured out is to have a YouTube video at the top of the Steemit post, but it does sort of detract from the use of DTube itself.

Just a thoughtful suggestion to the Steemiverse I thought I might share! Any thoughts yourself @heimindanger?

Sort:  

biggest flaw in their entire system and why youtube is still destroying shit.

Couldn't agree with you more! People just don't want to take the extra steps to view dtube. Totally lazy but also an inconvenience. It should be loadable on the Steemit page. I hope they make it happen! Then dtube may really become competition to youtube, which is what is really needed ASAP. I bet its coming any day now!

I was watching one earlier and thought the same thing.

Hi,

We are trying to make it possible but as you said "a back-end solution needs to be worked out."
Not an hard change for steemit, and as you can see atm it's working nice on busy.org.
https://busy.org/trending/dtube

Wait and see

I was trying to find an answer to this very exact question but at least now I know that it is in the works.

Anyone has an update on his?

Also looking for an update on the main site. Busy.org is a Steemit interface that supports DTube just as well as YouTube though, and it looks far more user friendly imo.

Perfect ... yes. Just one more question what is busy.org and why it's different from Steemit?

Check it out, you should like it.

I logged in and will use it for my big post soon :) Thank you.

That's necessary!! Otherwise dtube is one step from youtube here...

Thank you for this information, I was just trying to google this myself. I guess I will have to post playable videos on steemit from yourtube for now. Lame but it is what it is...for now.

Amen. Must bridge the gap ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71