What The Hell Is Steem, SBD, SP And How To Take Advantage Of The System

in #steemit6 years ago

Hello!

If you are new, I bet your head is spinning with all of this information. "Which is which? Do I have to power up all the time? What's APR?". Fear not! I am here to...

NOT answer these fucking god-awful questions. There are literally, I mean literally, 1000s of these kinds of posts. BOOYA!

steem_success.jpg

Don't mind the photo. All part of the clickbait

It's like a toll you have to pay in order to be a new Steemit author. We get it already, it became redundant after the second post. But we ARE going to talk about how to take advantage of the system. Not just Steemit.

There's a secret, that is not really a secret, rather a known fact that no one seems to be acknowledging:

GIVE VALUE

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOSH.

Such a rebel, huh?

I mean, it's so simple and elegant you'd think everyone follows this principle.

What the world gives to you is in direct correlation with what YOU give to the world.

The more valuable you or your service is, the more you are going to collect from the world. It is something, dare I say, hardcoded into our existence.

From the most basic stuff, to the the high order intellectual product.

Why do you pay the mailman? Because he provides value, a service. He is needed. But notice their pay has been decreasing steadily over the last decade of so. Why is that?


1.There are many people who can do his job
2.His job itself isn't a necessity anymore since the dawn of the email. That makes him less valuable

But why does an (hollywood) actor gets paid x100000 than someone who does a more "valueable" work?

First of all, actors are much more attractive, intelligent and in general better people with photogenic faces and lots of millions :). Secondly, what is valuabe and what isn't, is subjective. Sure, food, water, shelter, sex etc are on the bottom of Maslow's hierarchy of needs. Once these are covered, everything else is up for grabs.

Supply and Demand

Depending on your environment, timing, culture etc, we price things differently. While a doctor is arguably more "important" is our society, actors are on demand. And their supply (at least the hollywood material) is super low.

It's obvious that we have to take in consideration what society needs and then provide value. It's like a Venn diagram.

ven.png

Your actual value is a combination of what you like doing, what you are good at and what society cares about.

Don't get surprised when your hobby of collecting water bottles and then writing about it online, doesn't earn you millions. Following your passion is 33,33% of the story, GABISH?

Now, do you understand why writing another post about Steem and sadjashd@!#WqwQWE and all that crap is pointless?

No one gives a fuck, because no one needs that information anymore, it's already out there.

Millionaires are millionaires, because they provide value. All the time. They get paid because they either do something no one can do or aren't willing to do.

Unless you have something to offer to the world, abundantly, then you are going to stay broke, both in mindset and money.

-Thatredbeardguy

P.S- How many of you are mad because I clickbaited you? No one, I'd guess. Wanna know why? Because I provided value, something you read and went "Whoah, that was actually interesting. His perspective will help me in the future. He's the best. And I've heard that his dick..."

cock.jpg

Ok ok, that's enough. Want more of me? Here:

(Plus: The Bully For You! service is ACTIVE)

Sort:  

I like the Venn diagram. It really is true. You can't sit here and just write about something you're passionate about but not that many people will care about. The meme is funny too.

That's correct. Of course you can always create the demand, with enough money and some clever marketing/branding, but that's another story.

Cheers and welcome to Steemit.

I got clickbaited and I liked it !
No in fact I knew what I was coming into, another post of that @redbeardguy so anything can happen.

I won't tell you I agree with everything blabla, because you don't care and I already upvoted you.

But I'm gonna oppose on the "Millionaires are millionaires, because they provide value. All the time." See where I put the emphasis ?

Just being annoying there. What about :

  • Successors ?
  • Annuitants ?
  • Monopoly holders ?

Don't mind answering, I understood your point.

Yeah, I know what you mean. But think about it like that:

You get rich enough, you have automated mechanisms generating value for you.

Obviously there's always more nuance to everything, but it'd become tedious and beyond the point of this post to dig into the details. Perhaps another time!

It sure would need some digging, but in fact, I already got my own opinion about that.
Perhaps some other time, perhaps never, not that important... The message was about oneself in this one, not others.

But still, to fuel the nascent debate... I'm this kind of insistent, someone who loves nothing more than animated discussion
I understand the principle of "automated value generating mechanism" but it can't be applied to all cases as you said. But you're right, it's really too specific to talk about it here.
I'm more thinking of the "monopoly holders" on this one.
Maybe we could also discuss about the real value generated by annuitants, especially in real estate.
Or shareholding...
But you already got the point.

Moreover, that's the minority... or the majority... I don't know the numbers :D

Well, monopoly holders do provide value. Even in the case of generational wealth, someone in your family started from scratch and created value. You are just continuing to capitalize on that.

I am not saying that there aren't cases where someone simply makes money, without providing shit (see gambling), but value isn't limited to "money", mind you.

OK for gambling.

For monopoly, I must oppose. Imagine you're getting a concession (license, I don't know the good term in english) from a State to exploit a gold mine, you'll make profit and get rich. In France we got the highway system that illustrates that in a good way (builded by the state, then licensed to private operators to exploit, 8 billion profits a year with no investments - just a portion of the money made to be reinvested, in this case the highways provide value, but the people who exploit it don't, it could be someone else and still provide value).
Okay, the gold mine (or highway) itself provides value, but you didn't get wealth because YOU provided value, anybody could have done it. You got rich because you were the lucky (or more exactly the connected - mafia style) one.

It's always good to know that a lot of wealthy families today (their successors) are descending from someone who obtained such an advantage.

That's the reason why I don't want to get into details, because there are many parameters.

The more "connected" guys did offer to someone value, that's why they're connected. Value has nothing to do with morals.

There are exceptions to every rule. If I win the lottery, I didn't really provide value, in terms of money. But who knows the value I provide in other areas of life?

Yes, you're right, because if we continue down this road (I could say that being connected can be done by fear, by obligation, by political power, by blackmail and do all those provide value to anyone ?), we will have to go into the discussion of "What is value ?" and we won't ever be able to answer it.
Since I agree with what you stated on your post, no need to pursue, but it was really nice, like always, to confront points of view with you !

Exactly. The point was "provide value". That's a good, useful statement no matter what!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Thank you for this article, I really LOVE the diagram. It's so true, but I guess only a fraction of all people who are publishing stuff on the internet are aware about it.

And only a fraction of people who already know that implement this, including myself sometimes.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66