You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @Sweetsssj : Sixth Day Eleventh Hour Selfvoting via a 13-Account Content Farm ?

in #steemit6 years ago

I could argue that codes of conduct are not centralized authority if a group the group write up the codes and we all agree on how to abide by them.

I don't feel like doing that since I have several large projects staring at me ...saying, "get to work."

I will check @youarehope foundation out! I work on an individual bases with my charity work and avoid large charity groups that I cannot physically check out to see how things operate.

I've worked in many small and large groups and raised a family, without some kind of moral and ethical rules and a way to enforce them the groups/family fall apart quickly.

Sort:  

Moral and ethical rules are a "culture" and I often preach on instilling a "culture" of giving, generosity, work ethics, and on and on, but I would postulate that any group that defines rules is okay, in their property such as a discord community here on the ecosystem, and that's cool, but system wide, unless every single person system wide can and DOES vote, the idea of a true democracy, will not ever evolve here in anarcho capitalistic steem land and I'm not sure it should, and further, in fact, I'm pretty sure, it shouldn't!

Is it actually an anarchist platform? I see pure greed.
As mentioned by @reddust; corruption brings poverty. I work in Finance and had a season in the financial crimes department for a large Big4.
After all I saw, from either CEO's, Chairmans and normal workers, is hard to say if anything good can come out of mankind who is given power to choose for themselves.

We see it over here, people is free, and you see pure BS at the top of the Hot and Trending sections. What good may we expect if Steem continues into this path?

I will not despair, thus this is the normal world. Blockchain bring us new opportunities to the whole mankind, I hope we will use them properly.

I agree that rules of conduct work in smaller groups the best. However, if something isn't done to curb the greed and gaming the steemit rewards pool, steemit as a social media site will starve to death. Maybe the SMT tokens will be able to help, I don't know. We can look to Golos as an example of greed running unrestrained ... maybe I should look at steemit as an economic system when framing this argument? There has never been a totally free market. I'm going to go read Milton Friedman writings and think about this

Thank you for a well thought out argument and I am sorry I can't go into detail because I have limited knowledge regarding anarchy and democracy, I have always felt they are the same thing...hahaha <3

Also pick up some Hoppean econ books ;) It's pretty close to what we have here. Effectively purely market driven. With all the foibles that attach to that, like sentiment, and opinion and other such "concrete factors" lol.

You should definitely be thinking of this place as an economic system, because underneath the veneer of blogs, comments, projects and websites, that's precisely what it is. A society, with a currency, in a decentralized, ungoverned environment. Partially ungoverned, that is, as there are block chain rules in place, - a constitution of sorts, in the whitepaper and hardforks, that sometimes change the rules in motion.

Fascinating, huh?

What do....

Dip into the currency stream, and play in the pool. I guess?

@sircork, Thank you for the book suggestions, I need all the help I can get, this new form of communication through digital currency/blockchain has been a steep learning curve for me...couple that with building a steemit account, investing in cryptocurrency, learning to format in html and researching/writing, and improving my painting skills has been so much fun. I think I lost my mind along the way, I'll never have to worry about my mind growing old because I forgot where I put it....hahaha

I'd like to have you on the air with me sometime, on @SteemStarNetwork. Perhaps you could oblige some time for some really good radio on these topics in a chat with our audience and other witnesses some Sunday soon?

I have never been on air and the thought is exciting and making me feel nervous/afraid. I've said no one other time because I am nervous about public speaking. Just because of that I would jump at the chance to face my fear and feel butterflies again, with more than a century of living under my belt nothing much gets my butterflies flying except the thought of a lot of people listening to me speak.

I am on Discord as reddust #3902 and steem chat @reddust. My time is my own so I can schedule a time to chat about this to fit your time schedule @sircork.

It's very casual, and the best time would be on a sunday morning. Ill contact you on discord. We do a weekly show, open to all steemitizens from 3pm till 7:30pm UTC-0 / 10am - 2:30 EST - details at @steemstarnetwork on how to find our discord, me and the shows we do there live nearly daily and sometimes multiple times per day now, with a 24/7 audio visual stream running live or weekly show replays at all times. Check it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76