You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A case for live chat on Steemit

in #steemit2 years ago

I agree that there would be a lot of demand, but I don't know how likely it is. They actually had a chat interface up until a couple of years ago, but I guess that moderation got to be too much effort.

Personally, I'm not much of a chatter, but a lot of people/communities here make use of Telegram and/or Discord for off-chain interaction. A dedicated platform might have advantages.

I think your last point about value is the key. There has to be a value proposition for it, and none of the existing/past solutions had direct value chains linking blockchain and participants.

Sort:  

There used to be a chat? I thought it was not possible because then the blockchain would have to assign a % of steem everytime a small message was created making it slow and costly. I'm confused.

Together with a friend, we have thought of a platform based on Steem blockchain for journalists. The idea goes roughly like this: everytime the creator gets clicked (or voted), he/she gets a reward.

This is similar to Steemit BUT the consumers don't have to be registered, so it eases the friction for the regular folks that just want to read the article from their favorite cotent creator.

It would solve a few problems, being the main one a real easy use case of web3 and the problem for financing journalism.

I haven't thought of every aspect, I gotta admit; but it's been on my mind since I read "The Attention Merchants" from Tim Wu. And I'm eager to discuss it with similar minded people.

Yeah, there was a chat that was linked to the Steemit web site, but it wasn't on the blockchain. I guess it was probably some sort of open source software hosted on AWS or some other cloud provider. No rewards were paid out.

For your idea, I guess some sort of custodial or delegation service would be needed. I think that the complexity of keys and accounts is a barrier to adoption here, so it definitely makes sense to me. I guess that having an app that seems similar to things that people are already familiar would speed adoption.

Personally, as time goes by, even just creating a regular account/password is becoming more and more of a barrier to me for many web sties.

Interesting. So an adjacent site could be created that doesn't necessarily works on the blockchain. I'll order the ideas in my head and then will try to present them in a post.

But as a former journalist I REALLY want to solve the problem of the financing: you either don't have it, or have it with strings attached. And I have a feeling that answer can be found in Web3.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56