Wondering What To Do With That Big Check?

in #steemit6 years ago

So something awesome (or maybe terrible happened) recently, you got a massive check, bigger than anything you've seen in a long time and you have more money than you expected. What should you do? Splurge? Save? Invest? Here are some very basic ways to make your money work for you with some ideas conventional financial experts might not always bring up. Please note I'm not an expert, so please use caution when investing or seek a professional, think of this as a launching point for ideas!

Pay Your Debts

We all have those bills somewhere, might as well kill them while you can in one swoop. Pay those bills or debts asap so you can stop stressing and move on with your life.

Pay Yourself First

Giving into temptation might not always be good, but if there is a item or product you've had your eye on for a while and its not eating your entire check, you might as well satisfy that craving (after you paid your debts) and enjoy yourself. You've earned it! Enjoy a bit of it!

Savings Are Your Friend

At the very least, after I have paid my debts and paid myself, half of what is left over is going directly back into my savings account. Just put it away and forget it is there.

Consider Crypto

I firmly believe everyone should have at least $100 in some form of cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, Ethereum, and even Steem. Don't just see them as investments, see them as tools and ways to free yourself from central banks and currency inflation. If you don't know where to buy or start a wallet, check out this link for Coinbase which is the best out there for getting started.

Books Are An Investment

Billionaire Mark Cuban said it first, "if a book can give me one new idea, its totally worth it." Recently with a large check I received out of the blue I went and purchased a book called Broke Millennial all about saving and investing.

Online Courses Are An Investment

From podcasting to blogging and everything under the sun, Udemy offers great courses on the cheap that teach you real skills for the real world. You invested your money, go and invest in your own intellectual capital.

This is a Steemit exclusive blog, but don't forget to check out my website at www.rwmartinez.com

Check out Remso on Gab, Minds, Facebook, or Twitter. Don't forget to go see more at his website today.


Join our group with more than 19,500 members !
Sort:  

Thanks for these tips @remsorepublic Great advice that I will definitely utilize. Good reading and great content....consider this resteemed, uvoted, and followed! 🤗🤑

Payment of bills and debt is going to be my first point of call too. Then I need to buy a laptop and a dongle to help me with my research and online presence for steemit.
Then I need to help my brothers financially. They need money for school. It is after that I will think of saving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61131.06
ETH 2927.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64