How to make Steemit better for YouTubers (Steemit Exclusive Video)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

How to make Steemit better for YouTubers

So I've had a few ideas about ways we could improve Steemit for YouTubers and I decided to make a video about it. For folks who want to skip the video, here are the ideas quickly jotted down.

#1 Tags
I believe tags should be grouped together based off theme and genre. For instance, we have several different tags that all relate to the same topic. We have a 'gaming' tag, a 'games' tag, and a 'game' tag. All of these tags should be merged into one page called 'Gaming' that collects every tag related to video games and put it into one space that's easy to find.

#2 Organization
We should have a way to organize our posts into categories and playlists right on our own Steemit pages. When someone follows us on Steemit they can easily find content that we created in a specific theme. For instance, if I had written some food posts alongside political news I should be able to organize the food posts like a playlist. YouTubers use this for shows they produce on their channels, so it's important for them to have this kind of organization ability on Steemit.

#3 Income Consistency
YouTubers have a way to forecast income from YouTube. I believe it's very important for Steemit to provide some method of income consistency so that YouTubers won't be left in the dark not knowing what kind of revenue they will generate. If a creator knows how much money they might get next month from regular uploads they'll be able to produce content with a budget in mind.

So what are your thoughts about my ideas my fellow Steemians?


Follow me on Steemit @Rerez for more gaming posts!
RerezGiffy (2).gif

Sort:  

I think these are really great ideas, steemit really does need to adopt more youtube like features, since videos are one of the biggest forms of media people consume. I wish it was possible to change the handle name since I hadnt thought it out when I made my steemit, and it requires a personal phone number to create. I assume its like this because the blockchain records it as that and it isnt changeable, but im sure steemit could mask it with a new transaction or something.

resteemed :D

I hope my phone number is not stored in the blockchain! I care about privacy and would hate for my number to be published freely online.

I think videos are very important for Steemit's future. If the site doesn't make it easy for video producers to share and organize content it'll work against user expansion.

Well, it's early days. Steemit will do what needs to be done to get more subscribers from the other platforms. I'm sure this is already in the pipeline. Exciting times ahead, steem on.

yes im sure! crazy to imagine where this is bound to go if it keeps going like this.

Steem on! :)

These are excellent ideas to make Steemit better. I think that adding features like that would help users be more organized, and make the site easier to navigate through.

I really want the playlist features the most. Organizing my content in a way that is easy to go through would be a big deal!

I'm a youtuber. Those suggestions sound like a good start.

Nice to see other YouTubers on the site! :)

Thanks @rerez. Going to check out your channel!

#3 Income Consistency

I believe, this is a matter of proper number of followers. Having 1000+ followers gives much more predictability in terms of minimum amount which post will earn.


PS. I noticed that you have made a mistake in markdown formatting. When you are making headlines, it is important to have space between hash tag and the text, like this: # 1 Tags, not like this: #1 Tags

You can read more about markdown formatting here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@lukmarcus/steemit-markdown-for-dummies-part-1-you-can-do-this

That might be true, I don't have a large following on Steemit. Hopefully in the future more folks will enjoy my posts! :)

As for the hash tag, that is actually how I wanted it to look. I wasn't using markdown formatting for that part of the post.

Great video @rerez! Good advice and info! Re-steemed, upvoted and following! :)

Thanks! :)

The youtube video only has 11 views, Odd for 77 view on that post.

Well its possible that most of the votes were from people who saw the ideas written down beneath the video. However, I do think that I better explained it in the video.

Better #tag handling should definitely be a priority for steemit.

Before the tag get merged together there should be a list of popular tags so people can self organize into the most popular tag with similar meaning.

The tag list on the right is currently buggy and hasn't been update in a long while.

I've upvoted you, +400$ for you, please add link to your steemit profile in your videos.
Number of views on a steemit post will often incentivize whales (like me) to reward your content.

Thanks for the upvote!

I really feel better tags could help this site our drastically. Organizing content well help guide folks around all over the site into finding things they want to read. Plus, it'll give older posts a much longer life.

That's a very good point to make, when I make videos like this in the future I'll be sharing them with links in the descriptions. :)

This is fantastic! I'd love to see more gamers on here.

I'm glad I'm not the only one who is actively trying to improve the content on Steemit. To that effect I created this campaign (please give me feedback, I just want to help):

I will upvote every constructive comment I get on Steemit with 5-10 cents in order to create a WIN-WIN-WIN.

You win by having me upvote and follow you, I win by having great comments and more followers and above all Steemit wins by getting better content.

Read about the rules and conditions here.

Please respond here or on my post with any feedback you have, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77