You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey Steemit, Let’s Talk

in #steemit6 years ago

Wow, got some negative votes on this one... I'm surprised, because this is entirely true.

There is the kind of conception I see among many content creators that their work is deserving of an audience. This is backward thinking. Your audience deserves good content. You need to make it the very best you can, and you need to promote it. It's not just their job to find it, you need to get it out there. That is why I originally started on Minds; I found out they had a method for user driven advertising.

But from my actual experience, the biggest boosts I get are due to being part of and engaging with a community.

Sort:  

For sure. Connecting with fellow users like @cryptogee and @arthur.grafo have been much more rewarding because that was organic connection and marketing. And all it took is being honest and kind about their content- being an audience member. Those kinds of peer connections are what I'm looking for, not the income. This isn't my job, I do it for fun.

And the downvotes are just from pissing off bernie. All 9 votes are from his alts, so y'know.

~ Mako

I had not read your banner, where you say you are a proofreader.

I am hoping something will happen to give me some economic ease and then would want you to proofread for me...not that I understand what you mean by saying you are an Oxford comma muderer
:)

@arthur.grafo I’m going to need to adjust my strategy here if I’m going to stay on the platform, as I’ve picked up an excellent team of editors to help advise me as I aim to publish my book. There’s a little bit about that in my latest post.

That being said, if you want to just do .01 SBD an article (a 99% discount on that listed price), I’d be happy to make an exception on account of your kindness to me :)

Cheers,

~ Mako

Thanks for your reply. I saw some of your comments about not posting your main book here so that Amazon do not block you. I understand and whenever the book is published, I'll be interested in buying a copy.

As for proofreading my book. I'm not likely to live long enough to post or have my book proofread (posts would be close to 2,500? At one post a day, we're what, talking about ...well, over 6 years!) I'm 75 now, so I just take it day by day.

What I am trying to do is make my daily posts, which means I actually achieve some improvements, plus, my main reader is Greek and by my having to explain what he read, I also come to understand (better) what is happening. So, that is positive.

I also like having some time for new writing. I tend to link much of them to my main book, as it means I do not need to look for ways to publish them as separate stories.

Actually, I did not notice that I had been kind - as you say. Mostly, I just liked your writing and when I contacted you, I came to appreciate you as a person also.

Concentrate on your book, as you must get it published before I am too senile to enjoy it
:)

Nah not really negative, it is just bernie. Sorry @makowrites.

Yeah I pissed off Bernie and his gang of alts. It's okay, I meant what I said and obviously it hit home :)

~ Mako

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23