Steemit - Is it the answer, or the maker of questions?

in #steemit6 years ago

My good friend and associate, @jongolson, has a Telegram group for a crypto related program he owns. It is designed for people new to crypto to learn about things such as faucets, cloud mining, using wallets and exchanges, and so forth.

Steemit already plays a role in the lesson plan, with members introduced to the awesomeness it has to offer in the 'additional resources' section. Today, Jon asked if its presence should be expanded into an earlier section that had another program removed recently - mining.

The premise proposed, basically, was that the video/lessons would explain how using Steemit is like 'mining' STEEM. How you can add to your account value simply by using it. Sounds simple enough at face value, but . . .

  • If you build it, will they come?

  • And if they do, can they get in?

Steemit is rather notorious for taking days/weeks, or longer, to get an account verified. When working with people that are absolutely new to crypto, is this a good option for them? Simply getting people into the program, as we have seen from members trying, can create a plethora of 'why isn't this working' questions.

Patience may be a virtue, but few express it with regard to joining something!

Not all of this is due to the structure of Steemit, though. People make mistakes when signing up, mess up a phone number, leave out a character in an email address, and so forth. In most programs new people are used too, that isn't a 'critical' aspect. Once inside, you simply correct it. But here, that could mean you are NEVER approved or get the notifications needed.

And once you do get in, you find the learning curve has just begun.

So I toss out this question to you . . .

  • Is Steemit a good 'fit' for people with no real experience in crypto, the blockchain, or even the section it was proposed to enter, mining, as a starting point? Or should it remain where it is, in a more advanced section?

I look forward to the discussion about this and hope to read differing viewpoints that allows me to examine this further. I may be entirely wrong about my assumptions, and find that this is a great option to learn from. Let me know!

Best Regards
Rich Taylor

Sort:  

Well you know what I'm going to say LOL

That being said...I think Steemit has some major problems when it comes to getting people actually signed up and is arguably one of the biggest hurdles we need to overcome if I'm to add it to my training.

Telling people sign up and...We're not sure when you will get approved, doesn't really give people the sense of security and trust in something they will be investing their time and hopefully money into.

Once they 'get it' sure, they will be on board....The trouble I'm seeing is actually getting the people on board.

I agree the stumbling point is the entry. Fix that, and watch things get crazy around here!

I think the delayed entry is a big problem which if it was solved could make a big difference. I also think it is a bit confusing for a while, so some kind of simpler get started type directions would be nice'

Simple is good! I have been here a while, and it is still confusing! Make a post, wait to upvote, no don't wait, get bots . . . yeah, it can be a mess!

I wonder how many folks have just moved on after hearing nothing about getting an account??

Too many? I can see that as being a problem. People just give up and go elsewhere.

I agree the sign up process and maybe the first two weeks or so before you start to grasp the basics in Steem are a big hurdle that will need to be streamlined to get to a higher adoption.

There are solutions to both hurdles I think. The point is when they will become the first priority and to keep the entire process as less centralized as possible (which is a big issue!).

I would agree that solutions to overcome the initial problems can be found. The upcoming Hardfork is, supposedly, going to address at least part of it by making account generation quicker. There are other aspects to consider as well, though.

Steemit is poised on the cusp of growth that will benefit everyone here providing it is managed correctly. I, for one, hope to see it overcome limitations and find it's true potential.

Thanks for posting @gadrian!

Glad to see you posting @richardtaylor! :) It took me a few weeks to get my account... I used it as a time to learn what I could so when I was approved I was ready... however, I know I am not the norm. I would suggest gearing some training around that very topic. What to do while you are waiting on approval. Then once approved you are little better prepared. For example the explanation of Steem, Steem Power, Steem Back Dollars can be explained. Some might call it busy work but, it is a critical part of the process to understand. Now that I know my Steem Power is what drives my account I put more focus on that. Making sure I build that... Just a few thoughts.

Hey @paulcaraway!

That's actually a good idea, having some training based around 'while you are waiting for approval'. It would keep people interested as they await verification and give them a bit of a leg up once it comes through. Post about that suggestion for @jongolson in Telegram or Discord. Good stuff!

We want people to find every possible pathway on this journey that leads to improving their position. Opportunities abound. By working together, I hope more people can stay the course, and find theirs.

Yes I am with you ... stay the course is the key! It is easy to have excuses... we should eliminate those so it is encouraging! :)

I agree... they need to write "Steemit for Dummies" for those of us who don't "get" it...

Hey @richardtaylor, you just received a random 100% upvote for your activity at the @minnowsmith project! Stay tuned and keep mining. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85