SteemLibrary: My original contribution to Steemit (Proposal)

in #steemit8 years ago

Since I got here 4 weeks ago, I’ve been reading a lot, more than I’m used to. I’ve learned so much from so many people, many places to go, but as time passes, it has become harder for me to keep it up, as right now there are 50k+ users, there are many things that i would like to save for later, but I can’t , there are a lot of underrated authors which articles get buried by all the shitpost and copy and paste. Many people leave steemit because (in their words) they don’t get the attention they deserve, but who’s to blame in here, we can’t spend all day behind a screen, there is not enough time to read every single post out there. Hopefully with this element we can read from more authors.

I came upon an idea that could save all of us a lot of time looking for this possible hidden gems or our steemit’s heroes. A new feature that allow us to save posts for later. You could be thinking (this is nothing new, that’s what bookmarks are for, etc) But if you are an avid reader like me, you’ll have by now about 200-300 of them, and it’s frustrating, sometimes I don’t remember the name of the author, or the title, but I know I saved it, so I can enjoy the read later, i waste time looking for the post in my bookmarks..

(take a look at what i'm saying)

So here’s my proposal: The Steem Library.

Imagine if every one of us could have our personal library that could be easily accesed from our account

That small star symbol next to upvote button is the one that will be used to save a post for later.

Then you go to your personal stack of favorite posts in the library section.. The Library itself could look like this, every post is saved the way you look at here. You can sort it by date or name of the author.

Hope you like my idea, and you're as enthusiastic as me for this to happen

I wish that @ned and @dan could take a look at my suggestion, and that this thread can be discussed. So if you want to add anything, please leave a comment.

Thanks for your time. sorry about my bad english.

Sort:  

Your idea to bookmark posts in to a library would be so helpful. With so much great stuff, but limited time to digest it, it just seems like a logical step. I hope something like this is in the development pipeline.

It would be extremely useful to be able to "Favorite" and article and save it in a favorites list or something for easy access. However going a step further and making a personalized library which you could catagorize posts in would be even more useful. Great ideas man, hope the devs notice and think about it.

yea, there are too many bookmarks on my chrome, i have 200+ already, and just added your proteins post

I know how it goes, hopefully the devs see there's a need for better organizing of liked material on here. Its something that reddit doesn't really do well either and would be an easy way for steemit to stand out ahead of the crowd.

Great idea, it is logical to add such a useful feature! Hope your proposal becpmes a reality!

I think this is a great idea; allows us to skim content, upvote it and save full enjoyment of it for later. This will encourage authors to create deeper, longer and more self-referential works.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67497.36
ETH 3532.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19