Teaching My 9 and 10 Year Old Girls from Using the F-Word ...

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

My oldest has referred to my youngest as being this, and it has giving her a real complex.

I know some will say "it's kids just being kids". But it's not just a bullying tactic with real ramifications, but it is also a body shaming tactic that can go as far as young kids taking their lives.

Conclusion...

So next time you want to snicker at a kid and say how 'F' he is...well think again because the consequences can be life altering.

Just my 2 cents...whatever that is worth

Sort:  

I hear you man! This whole bullying is at a whole new level then when I was in school. I cannot believe how many people I talk to that personally know someone that has killed themselves over bullying in school. Its out of control now!

Children are fast listeners really, we'd be careful how we really relate we're definitely their role model and we may be surprised really

Yeah we just need to constantly tell them the language that is unacceptable and the language that . Instill in them at an early stage

Teaching them is certainly a noble job, of course, I think this is very interesting

Yep teaching sure is.I agree

OH, "FAT"! I thought you were talking a different "F-word" and I was like, "body-shaming?" What the..?

While I do think it's "kids-being-kids", that doesn't mean it won't leave a lasting complex. I use moments like that with my kids to try and share feelings and understand how to empathize. Tough task sometimes.

Good luck!

Good point. It is also really important for us to model the behavior and not refer to ourselves in such a way. Sometimes you accidentally do, but the key is to not represent it in a negative way. Very nice that you are working to stop that type of behavior and thinking before it becomes a complex!

My nephews and Nieces aren't allowed to cuss and now they are just as I expect them to be, very courteous and respectful. Sir @robertandrew

With so many kids committing suicide it is important to talk to your kids to somehow give them enough strength (self-esteem)to shake negative comments. Certainly no easy answers, Rob.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97