You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To Discord, or not to Discord

in #steemit6 years ago

I completely agree... giving them so many platforms to figure out at once can overwhelm them and actually make them shy away from a great tool like Discord. I've already had a few friends back out because it was just too much learning Steemit... I was lucky enough to learn Steemit before Discord was even a thing, so by the time it came around, I was already some what comfortable with Steemit. And I had friends to help me navigate Discord as well. That is always a huge help! But I'm happy that I found it because I have made so many friends on there and discovered great new content that I love! Before Discord finding content within the same topics that you are interested in was a little harder to do, considering that tags are only a vague topic of the posts and actual content that one shares.

Sort:  

@rockchickenjen thank you! You brought up a great point about friend helping you out on Discord - that is also something that doesn't usually happen when a person joins Discord without making any connections on Steemit first. BTW, you are someone I know better on Discord than Steemit, I recently discovered your epic metal growl thanks to the track that @soundwavesphoton was playing on the backfill, and now i'm a fan!

So very true!! And thank you! Haha! I just started joining other Discord threads about 4-5 months ago and the MSP Waves was one I found. Then I discovered @crimsonclad's amazing show and met some really awesome people like you there! Which was great because now I am finding all of those people on Steemit and actually get great content that I am interested in on my feed now, as opposed to just blindly following random people in the beginning!

Most people join these groups only to promote their posts, but don't realize that there is so much more to it than that! The radio shows, the helpie groups, and just plain human interaction in the discussion channels, not to mention the many ways to find support with multiple things! I'm amazed at how fast it's grown and the amazing network that it has turned into!

I couldn't have said it better @rockchickenjen, you've basically described my experience too! Steemit made a lot more sense to me with the help of the people in the different chats, and as you said, it's so much more than just a place to promote one's own posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88