Sort:  

It is so good to see google ads on Steemit!

Is this a delayed April Fool’s comment...??

Nearly as good as finding maggots in your sphincter...

Hardfuck 20 was the beginning of the end - this is the final straw

It's good for the other front ends. :) Maybe new users will not question it.
Maybe the blogging site and endusers are too much for crypto.
I don't care that steemit needed to do this, but I am frustrated in the lack of foresight in setting expectations

I even wrote a post about adding complications to an already difficult onboarding process.

I think they tried hard. But dropping the changes in the middle of the day on a Wednesday with no plan on how to handle support, frustrated me and has onoce again shaken my confidence in ever retaining users.

Wow, ok. This is depressing.

And that’s sort of an understatement.

I saw these ads also of late. I suppressed one that I did not like and another popped up where that one was. We always have to hope someone knows what they are doing. One of the great things of Steemit is there has been no such ads.

oh I see, you also wrote an article about this subject.

Well yeah, airdrops would be a suitable solution too. At least this way the community would somehow profit from this incision

Just use other front ends.
Steempeak is my favorite now. Busy is 2nd.

Life is not free and the reality of the crypto bear market push new option on the table. You have the option to use a another front end or a ads blocker.

Posted using Partiko Android

Personally I have felt the Steemit needed other revenue sources for a long time so the whole model wasn't to dump Steem they ninja minded every week creating all kinds of sell pressure. I haven't seen the new wallet feature yet or messed with it but it seems like more users are upset about that more than anything. I just wonder how many people will totally be locked out of their accounts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Why would anyone be locked out of their account...? 🤔

Because of the new wallet site and a lot of people just had their password saved in their browser and they could become confused and just give up even if they have a few hundred dollars worth in their wallet. Some people won't even try to visit the website for several more months when crypto surges more. There are so many inactive accounts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, as understandable as that might be, at the same time, if people aren’t accepting FULL responsibility for managing their keys properly, they’re bound to fuck themselves in this game at some point or another.

It’s ALWAYS been stated upfront and clear : SAVE AND BACKUP YOUR PRIVATE KEYS.

IF people run into that complication, it’s no one’s fault but their own.

True but the attrition levels were already high. This will likely wash out a whole other set and upset bigger investors on the way things are handled. It is unfortunate what has happened to Steem. It never fulfilled its potential. Possibly that can be realized in MEOS.

Posted using Partiko Android

You heard anything about the token model they’re using for MEOS?

Given the “Steemit 2.0” reference and way things have been going with BEOS giving tokens to BTS holders staking on their chain, I’m curious (and perhaps hoping) that MEOS might do the same - offering to airdrop their tokens to existing Steem holders, rather than everyone holding Steem losing out on what they’ve already earned if Steem dies and MEOS succeeds...

I haven’t heard anything. They have been very hush hush about it. I briefly talked to Dan at the EOS hackathon back in November and he just mentioned they were figuring out the key system they are going to use.
Hopefully steem holders do get a distribution. That is what I would do to onboard an already large community.
I have a feeling there will be some sort of facial recognition software they will employ to verify people are only using one account on the network. I don’t know that forsure but if they are going to do some sort of Universal Basic Income there would have to be someway to verify individuals so it doesn’t get overran by bots. Im not saying im for this but I just have a feeling

Facial recognition and UBI...?

Jeezus, this sounds pretty next-level.

It’d be interesting to see how the facial recognition feature rolls out, though - given it’d most likely require one of the newer smartphones with such technology, it’d be excluding alot of people from accessing it. Even with my iPhone 8 I couldn’t - let alone shitloads of people in Africa, SE Asia, etc, who are just using more entry-level phones...

I haven’t heard anything. They have been very hush hush about it. I briefly talked to Dan at the EOS hackathon back in November and he just mentioned they were figuring out the key system they are going to use.
Hopefully steem holders do get a distribution. That is what I would do to onboard an already large community.
I have a feeling there will be some sort of facial recognition software they will employ to verify people are only using one account on the network. I don’t know that forsure but if they are going to do some sort of Universal Basic Income there would have to be someway to verify individuals so it doesn’t get overran by bots. Im not saying im for this but I just have a feeling

The floor is now open for anyone to share how this could possibly be a good thing...

How about creating a fiat revenue stream, the likes of which are needed to ultimately justify a non-zero price in the future?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63016.70
ETH 3028.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75